May You Live In Interesting Times

Was always taught that the title was an old Chinese curse. Everything I've been able to find says the Chinese likely didn't coin the phrase, but whatever its origins it's definitely seems fitting for the times we're living in. Went shooting this afternoon, it was acting like it was going to wind up being entirely uninteresting...then I spotted these two.

They're brave. With the way people drive here these days you don't even have to do anything risky to run the risk of getting killed. Can't help but suspect that all that's happened since covid came calling has made everyone more irrational and less risk averse. Is it like that in your neck of the woods too?

History doesn't repeat itself but it does rhyme, and right now it's rhyming with 1968. Hell, the Democrats are even having their national convention in Chicago again. At least back then LBJ had the sense not to run again, and we still ended up with ol' Tricky Dick. May have to see if ol' Pigasus is up for another run.

Was reading today that milk is starting to come with an extra special ingredient, bird flu. You knew that sooner or later they were going to have to come out with something like the beer flu for nondrinkers, but this wasn't what I was expecting. Don't worry, we're from the government and we're here to help.

Don't drink milk if I can help it, so hopefully I can duck that one. People make things interesting enough, don't need any help from the birds anyways.

Ever notice how when things are good and interesting, you just wish things were a bit more boring? Then, if you have the misfortune to get your wish, you're reading for things to be interesting again, if only to relieve the boredom.

I don't do well with boredom, so curse or no, I think I'll take interesting times. What about you?

Sort:  

There you go, again.. making lame ducks look cool.

Pretty sure that would require defying the laws of physics.

I'll take interesting times for sure! Weird seeing people ride without helmets: I have fallen off enough times and my head hit the tar hard enough in the last 34 years of riding to value them

It's interesting, you're the second person to comment on the lack of helmets and until y'all said something that hadn't really registered with me. I think the majority of people here don't wear them, although a decent number of people do. Never been on a motorcycle myself but I have managed to embed gravel in a bike helmet, so I definitely have an appreciation for them.

A friend of mine's dad was the head of a department down at the university hospital here, he always called'em donorcycles because motorcycle accidents were where they got a lot of their organs for transplant.

Yup, I'd have been a donor long ago without one

Great shots! Are motor cyclists helmets not compulsory in your neck of the woods?

Thanks! That is the law but adherence to and enforcement of that is rather lacking. You basically have to come across a cop in a rather bad mood to get cited for it. Are they more consistent with it where you live?

Hehe
We’re never satisfied
When things finally go the way we want, we sometimes get tired of it and then switch our wishes again
I love the pictures!

Be careful what you wish for, you may just get it.'
Ha, yep!
Thanks!

Hermoso contenido , me encantan las motos .

Gracias. ¿Usas casco cuando conduces?

This is a interesting one but it does look a bit dangerous too!

Oh yeah, it's dangerous, that's what caught my eye. Couldn't believe somebody was actually doing that but I wasn't going to pass up the opportunity to get photos.

@tipu curate 2

Beautiful black and white picture

Thank you!

Most Welcome friend

I myself have been riding a bike for a long time and enjoy it a lot especially when the weather is cold.