Oregon Coastline In B&W

oregon_coastline_3.jpg

Third time's the charm! Started trying to work up a post a couple times earlier today and it went completely nowhere. Ever get in a mood where you're not satisfied with your work and can't make any progress? Had to go do something else for a bit, did the trick nicely.

oregon_coastline_4.jpg

@zo3d had mentioned possibly exploring one of the coasts here in the US and that got me to thinking about my time on the 101 on the west coast here. The 101 runs from Tumwater, Washington up and around the Olympic peninsula before heading south along the coast to LA in California.

oregon_coastline_5.jpg

I never made it down into California so I can't speak for it but what I traveled of the 101 in Oregon was one of my favorite parts of a 10,000 mile road trip. In Washington highway sometimes strayed from the coast but in Oregon it was right on it for the most part.

oregon_coastline_6.jpg

I spent about two weeks wandering the 101 and could easily go back and spend that many more again and not get everything in. There's so many things to shoot and see and explore that I don't think I'll ever get tired of it.

oregon_coastline_7.jpg

So what's your favorite bit of coastline to play on?

Sort:  

We normally take a trip to Seaside, OR and Long Beach, WA every year. Load up the camp trailer and get sand in places you never knew you had.

Amazing photography as usual.
!PIZZA
!BEER

Nice! I spent a week in Seaside and fell in love with the place, I'm always scheming to get back there. Thank ya!

Random though: Do you know if people take kayaks out on the Columbia Bar?

I’m not 100% sure but I know if you cruise back up the river a bit… lots of salmon to catch. Lol

My dad caught 20 the other day clear over here on the east side of the state. Granted he could only keep one, so it was catch and release.

Never fished for salmon before, gonna have to remember to do that next time I make it out that way. Sounds like a blast even if he only got to keep one. Is that a per day limit?

One a day keeps the Fish and Wildlife away. Lol. My little nephew caught a nice one the other day.

26CDECAE-F8BB-4858-95AE-004B5EFB7F3B.jpeg

@coloneljethro! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @splatts.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/20)

I haven't been there in ages. Maybe it's time to plan an epic road trip.

These were taken in 2017, which was my first and only visit there unfortunately. Is there ever a bad time for an epic road trip? I'm itching for another one myself but hive may have to go up a bit more before I can pull that off. You got an idea or favorite place for one?

I have too many ideas. I'd like to visit family in the midwest again. I'd like to see the Oregon coast lighthouses again. I'd like to tour the southwest, and for that matter most of the states where I have never been. I'd also be tempted to finally visit PorcFest and consider the FSP in New Hampshire.

Haaa I never got up to Oregon unfortunately even though I always had a seat on the Green Tortoise...but I did spend 10mnths in San Francisco and drove up and down the coastline there a few times...

Great shots you got there which is good, cause now I know where to visit when I get back to the states again someday (sooner rather than later I hope...)

I never made it down to California, does that make it balance out? Thanks! Yeah, it's hard to go wrong with the Pacific Northwest, hope it's sooner for both of us!

Maybe one day we'll pass each other in the streets as I'm heading north and your going south! 🤣

Hey! Great shots. I know this coast. I was just there last weekend. :) Got some good beach crows and pelicans on Cannon Beach.

Nice! I spent a week in Seaside a few years back and then wandered south, it's one of my favorite places. What'd you and your feathery friends get into down there?

Oh, you know, just the usual, me paying them peanuts to ogle and photograph them. They really deserve a raise...
Seaside is a cool little town. That whole coast is gorgeous. There's also a place in Washington called Ocean Shores where you can camp on the beach, if you ever go back there.

I think they double bill for their time so it probably averages out. At least when the cruise ships are calling.

You won't catch this hillbilly camping on no beach, camping on bottom land is how you get washed away in your sleep. I did camp right next to it in the little sliver of Olympic National Park along the coast which was fun. I'll definitely check out Ocean Shores the next time I'm out that way again., thanks for the tip!

This is beautiful....I love it...

It's an amazing place!

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thanks! That's an area that definitely lends itself well to b&w photography.

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment