You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Caboose Photos And A Photography Contest Opportunity

I wouldn't mind seeing some of that, do you post any of it on here? Do y'all get much in the way of trains in the Upper Peninsula?

Hey, any camera is better than no camera :) I love my DSLR but I've spent way more time running around with point and shoots, they just make you work harder for the shots you want.

I'm originally from southeastern Kentucky, coal trains used to be everywhere but I'd never seen a caboose on one. Were they mostly for passenger trains? For some reason they always make me think of Steve Goodman's City of New Orleans. Thanks!

Sort:  

I posted a few of my train photos on here, but that was probably a couple of years ago now.
There are several active railroads in the Upper Peninsula at this time. One of them runs north and south through the town that I live in. It mostly hauls forest industry products such as pulp wood. There were 2 different lines hauling iron ore to the big ore docks, one on Lake Michigan, and one on Lake Superior. I know that one of them has been shut down for a couple of years due to the mine shutting down, the other one I'm not sure about.
I think the use of cabooses was discontinued in either the 1970s or 1980s due to changes in federal railroad regulations. Cabooses were commonly used on freight trains and almost never on passenger trains.
This is one of the pictures that I took several years ago. This engine is still in use, even though it's probably about 70 years old.

E  LS 600  61811 005.jpg