Caboose Photos And A Photography Contest Opportunity

in Black And White3 years ago (edited)

I generally try and refrain from shilling things that aren't hive related but there's usually an exception to every rule and today is gonna be one of those.

caboose 1.jpg

I got an email today letting me know that LensCulture's Fine Art Photography contest deadline had been extended until December 21st. To quote from the website

Winners will enjoy career-changing opportunities including exhibition in New York, extensive media coverage, projection at international photography festivals, cash prizes and more.

I mention the contest because unlike most of the major competitions I am familiar with, you can enter a single photo for free. There's a fee to enter a series or multiple individual photos and you can pay more and get a written review of your work but anybody can enter a single photo. LensCulture has a rotating series of contests, so usually at any given point they're usually accepting entries for one photo contest or another, and all of them allow a free single entry.

caboose 2.jpg

I've been entering some of their contests for the past few years, I've never won anything but it's a bit of fun and nice to be able toss your hat in the ring without having to drop $30+ USD. It don't take much time to sign up so if you've got a few minutes and a photo you're fond of, why not give it a shot?

caboose 3.jpg

These photos are of some seemingly abandoned cabooses that I noticed sitting on a rail siding in my old neighborhood. They'd been there for weeks and I kept telling myself I needed to grab my camera and get some shots before something happened to them. It was the first time I'd came across any cabooses outside of a museum in several years and judging by the condition of these, I was half convinced they'd been abandoned. Turned out I was wrong, a couple days after I took these shots they disappeared and I've never seen any more there since.

I figured these were appropriate for mentioning the contest since I almost missed both. Does anybody know of a photographer on here that does rail photography? I've always had a fondness for trains and I'm pretty sure they would make for some fun photo adventures but I've yet to quite get around to it.

Sort:  

Great shots. Love anything rolling stock related and these didn't disappoint. Great in B&W also

Thank you! Wish I had more photos of rolling stock, I may have to add that to my list for 2021, before it up and disappears.

I have been known to do a bit of railroad photography from time to time. I don't have a good camera, just a decent point and shoot camera. Still, I've gotten a few better than average pictures over the past 20 years.

These old cabooses look like they're possibly on the way to the scrap line or long term storage. The railroads haven't used cabooses in a long time due to changes in the rules. You got some good shots of them, you can really see the details.

I wouldn't mind seeing some of that, do you post any of it on here? Do y'all get much in the way of trains in the Upper Peninsula?

Hey, any camera is better than no camera :) I love my DSLR but I've spent way more time running around with point and shoots, they just make you work harder for the shots you want.

I'm originally from southeastern Kentucky, coal trains used to be everywhere but I'd never seen a caboose on one. Were they mostly for passenger trains? For some reason they always make me think of Steve Goodman's City of New Orleans. Thanks!

I posted a few of my train photos on here, but that was probably a couple of years ago now.
There are several active railroads in the Upper Peninsula at this time. One of them runs north and south through the town that I live in. It mostly hauls forest industry products such as pulp wood. There were 2 different lines hauling iron ore to the big ore docks, one on Lake Michigan, and one on Lake Superior. I know that one of them has been shut down for a couple of years due to the mine shutting down, the other one I'm not sure about.
I think the use of cabooses was discontinued in either the 1970s or 1980s due to changes in federal railroad regulations. Cabooses were commonly used on freight trains and almost never on passenger trains.
This is one of the pictures that I took several years ago. This engine is still in use, even though it's probably about 70 years old.

E  LS 600  61811 005.jpg

Good you got some shots before they were gone.
Here they're just relics from the past, because we don't have railroads anymore.

It's weird how railroads are thriving in some places and dying in others. Where I grew up trains hauling coal used to run all the time, now none do. At the same time taking a train is the norm in other parts of the globe and they're still building newer and better ones.

'Relics of the Past' I like that, I may have to steal that for a title :) They're definitely on their way to being a footnote of history around here.

Hahaha be my guest; I don't own the words 😅
And I know... Only place I've been in a train was in Europe, with those fast trains. Where you could travel in a matter of time from one country to the other.

My parents did get to experience it here I think.
Trains were mainly used for transport of raw materials and now it's mostly on the road.

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal