You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's a great day for monomads!

“But I don't want to go among mad people," Alice remarked. "Oh, you can't help that," said the Cat: "we're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad."

I think I've figured it out, we've somehow been teleported into Alice in Wonderland. Fake managers fighting false battles, yep, it all checks out.

Love the photos! You beat me to getting this Friday's post up 😎 What island is it that you go camping on?

I automatically assume that anyone who says they can't complain is putting on a front. Besides it's too cathartic not to.

Sort:  

It all adds up!

San Juan Island, I'm pretty sure it was one of the smudges in the smoke I saw from Port Angeles a few years back. Strangely enough, that was also the last place anyone offered me mushrooms for microdosing 😎 Is there much in the way of decent camping there?

Nice, good ol' Tom Waits!

Port Angeles is beautiful, too.
There's good camping on all the islands (Orcas, Lopez, Shaw), but the only place I've camped is the San Juan County Campground. It's RIGHT on the water overlooking Haro Strait. I've seen orcas in the distance, and even heard their blows (Thar she blows!) at night when they were fishing. I could try other camp spots, but I really don't want to. It's basically like my vacation home, but considerably less expensive and I don't have to pay property tax.

I only spent one day in Port Angeles but I would have loved to have spent more time there. It was 'raining' ash when I was there though.

That sounds like my kind of vacation home. I camped in the sliver of Olympic National Park that's right on the Pacific Ocean, aside from the orcas it sounds like your spot. I loved it there, even if visibility was so shitty I could barely take photos.