Red River Gorge Rocks

rrg_rocks_4_copy

May have found me a new project. Red River Gorge is right next to where I grew up in southeastern Kentucky and I've spent a good bit of time there over the years.

rrg_rocks_3_copy

The Red has lots of good hiking and climbing, and it regularly draws crowds from all over. Within the climbing world it's particularly well known, when I'm out traveling and want to give someone and idea of where I'm from I just tell them near to the gorge.

rrg_rocks_1_copy

Did I mention a project? Seems some moneybags types have gotten them the bright idea “to create a tourism destination in Eastern Kentucky, such as a modern, well-planned Gatlinburg.” Have you ever been to Gatlinburg? Finest monument to consumerus vulgaris I've ever seen, if tourist traps were self replicating that would be Gatlinburg. (West Coast folks, think Estes Park, Colorado but with Confederate battle flags and a local median household income that's about 2/3rds less)

rrg_rocks_2_copy

Anyways, they're planning on building a resort to bring in those tourist dollars. Sounds good, right? Much like the coal mining it is nominally intended to replace, it'll be great. For the operators, everyone else still gets fucked.

rrg_rocks_5_copy

I'll spare y'all the details of how but if you want more info, that can be found here.

rrg_rocks_6_copy

Project, right. Think it's time I spent some quality time in Red River Gorge. There's a local group (see link above) trying to put the brakes on the worst of this, I'm hoping to help them with some photos as well as documenting The Red and the people there.

rrg_rocks_7_copy

Should be fun. How often do you get a chance intentionally shoot 'this is how it looked before it all went to hell' shots?

rrg_rocks_8_copy

Until I can make it down there to get some new shots, here's some photos from the when I was down there last year.

rrg_rocks_9_copy

Sort:  

Is the Red River Gorge the same as the famous Red River Valley and the cowboy who loved you so true that you're supposed to remember, according to the song?

Nope, there's an absurd number of Red Rivers in this country (at least 10) and from what I read here the song is actually from Canada, although that Red River originates in Minnesota and North Dakota.

Whoa neat, I had no idea. I like the back stories on folk songs. I learned that "The Old Grey Mare" song was actually first a Christian spiritual song, "if you wanna get to heaven gotta go in the wilderness." I'm no Christian, but I certainly agree with this sentiment.

Good luck with it

Thank you! I know one of the people involved in trying to build the resort (he's from my hometown and his family owned the bank and a bunch of other stuff there), and if he's involved you know it's going to be bad.

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!