I see the light

in Black And White2 years ago

I see the light

but that's only because I had all that darkness to compare it to

funny how you can fumble around endlessly in pitch black despair and have no idea that anything else exists until some pale and pesky XXL corvid swoops into some rich dude's house with the intent to fuck his beautiful daughter but instead comes across this shiny ass sun the rich dude's been hiding in a cedar chest at the foot of his bed all this time while the rest of us morons are tripping over our own feet because we can't see shit because it's dark as fuck out here

so of course XXL corvid has to steal said sun because it's shiny and he has to live up to his reputation for liking shiny things so he takes the glowball in his beak and sneaks out of the house through the stovepipe which of course turns him jet black and the world blue bright white sunshiney day and then we ALL

see the light

you can thank raven for that one

(this is a crow named Melby but you can thank him, too)
DSC_2023.JPG

I see the light I once sang on the stage at the White Eagle with my friend Pat Kearns opening up for James McCartney back in the day when everything was easy and natural and I got what I wanted because I didn't know what else was out there and hence what more did I need

Is it dark in here or am I just young?

DSC_3835.JPG

DSC_6210.JPG

DSC_2007.JPG

I see the light I say as I forge my way into the arctic circle in the endless summer days, days past, days yet to come

I see the light, I mumble as I hit the snooze button and wriggle deep under the blankets with my little dog

I see the light, I say as I roll over in bed and grab the cord that opens the blinds

I see the light, I say to the backseat driver that won't shut up better shut up jesus god man just let me drive I know what I'm doing

DSC_1998.JPG

I see the light after I come out of the tunnel but I don't know what it is because I've never seen it before so it takes me a long ass time, months, years even, before I realize that it's light that I'm seeing

DSC_9704.JPG

I see the light, I say out loud to an inanimate image right before I suck the color out of it the same way a vampire bunny sucks the juice out of a carrot when you're seven years old hiding in safe spaces inside paperback books on loan from your best friend

I see the light.
I see the fucking light.
Hallelujah.
We made it.
I'm going to bed.


This is my entry for the #monomad challenge, held daily in the Black and White Community Dark and Light Community. Give it a try.


CrowTube Channel
Crowstagram
NFT Crowroom
A percentage of this post's rewards goes back to support the community.
All the stuff (pictures, words, etc.) I put in this post and any of my other posts is mine (unless otherwise stated) and can't be used by anyone else unless I say it's ok.

DSC_1342.JPG

Sort:  

Beautiful… I so enjoyed reading this and seeing the photographs. How elegant the crow looks… 😎🥰

Thank you! I had forgotten about these photos.

You are welcome, great you found them again 😎

 2 years ago  

Congratulations. Today's #monomad second place is yours.
Thank You very much for participating and for being part of the Black And White Community!

Whaaaaaaat??!! Woo hoooooooo!!!!