Fortress O Castro Monochrom. Vigo. Galicia

Hello friends! This is my first post on inleo.io. I already introduced myself with some Threads but today I'm making my first complete post.

And to make my debut I want to share with you a series of photos I took in the old fort of O Castro, in Vigo, Galicia. I decided to use a sepia filter to give the images a nostalgic touch and highlight the rich history of this fascinating place.

I have been to this place before and in fact, I have already shared images of it. But this time I got lost and discovered places I didn't know the first time I came, so today I bring some photos that are different from the first ones I shared.

First a summary of the place.

La Fortaleza O Castro is an ancient fortress built in the 16th century and reinforced in the 17th century to defend the city of Vigo from many battles, especially during the Spanish War of Independence against Napoleonic troops. It is a silent witness to numerous historical events. According to the fences that are in place and that speak of the history of this fortress, here began the first settlements of the settlers and gave rise to the city. Unfortunately little remains of this wall since the growth of the city has forced to demolish much of it.

Hola amigos! Este es mi primer post en inleo.io. Ya anteriormente me introduje con unos Threads pero hoy hago mi primer post completo.

Y para hacer mi debut quiero compartir con ustedes una serie de fotos que tomé en el antiguo fuerte de O Castro, en Vigo, Galicia. Decidí usar un filtro sepia para darle a las imágenes un toque nostálgico y resaltar la rica historia de este fascinante lugar.

Yo ya he estado antes en este sitio de hecho ya he compartido imágenes del mismo. Pero en esta oportunidad me perdí y descubrí lugares que no conocí la primera vez que vine, así que hoy traigo algunas fotos que son diferentes a las primeras que compartí.

Primero un breve resumen del lugar.

O Castro es una antigua fortaleza construida en el siglo XVI y reforzada en siglo XVII para defender la ciudad de Vigo de muchas batallas, especialmente durante la Guerra de la Independencia Española contra las tropas napoleónicas. Es un testigo mudo de numerosos eventos históricos. Según las vallas que están en el lugar y que hablan de la historia de esta fortaleza, aqui se iniciaron los primeros asentamientos de los pobladores y dio origen a la ciudad. Lamentablemente poco queda de esta muralla ya que el crecimiento de la ciudad a obligado a derribar gran parte de ella. 


One of my favorite photos is of the old, rusty anchors standing proudly in a small square inside the fort. These anchors, which once belonged to ships that sailed the Vigo estuary, are now monuments that connect us to the maritime life of yesteryear.

Una de mis fotos favoritas es la de las anclas antiguas y oxidadas, que se alzan orgullosas en una pequeña plaza dentro del fuerte. Estas anclas, que alguna vez pertenecieron a navíos que surcaron la Ría de Vigo, ahora son monumentos que nos conectan con la vida marítima de antaño.

Recently a subway museum of the fort was opened, but unfortunately, it was closed during my visit, so I was not able to explore that part. However, this only gives me more reason to return and continue discovering the secrets that Fortaleza O Castro holds.

Recientemente fue abierto un museo subterráneo del fuerte, pero lamentablemente estaba cerrado durante mi visita, así que no pude explorar esa parte. Sin embargo, esto solo me da más razones para regresar y seguir descubriendo los secretos que guarda la Fortaleza O Castro.




The views from O Castro are simply spectacular. From the top of the fort, you can see the Vigo estuary in its entirety, a breathtaking panorama that I have tried to capture in my photographs. The combination of the sunset light with the sepia filter gives the images a warmth that I hope transmits the same peace and serenity that I felt when I was there.

The flora of the place also deserves a special mention. The gardens surrounding the fort are full of life, with trees and plants that add a touch of color and freshness to the gray stones of the walls. Every corner is full of history and natural beauty.

Las vistas desde O Castro son simplemente espectaculares. Desde lo alto del fuerte, se puede apreciar la Ría de Vigo en toda su extensión, un panorama que quita el aliento y que he intentado capturar en mis fotografías. La combinación de la luz del atardecer con el filtro sepia le da a las imágenes una calidez que espero les transmita la misma paz y serenidad que sentí al estar allí.

La flora del lugar también merece una mención especial. Los jardines que rodean el fuerte están llenos de vida, con árboles y plantas que añaden un toque de color y frescura a las piedras grises de las murallas. Cada rincón está lleno de historia y belleza natural.


I hope you enjoy these images as much as I enjoyed capturing them, see you on my next photo adventure!

This is my entry for the #monomad challenge.

SeparadorHive.png

Images in this post are my own
English text translated with https://www.deepl.com/es/translator

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @mballesteros! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the August edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2024

Congratulations @mballesteros! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the August edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2024