| MONOMAD | Black & White Revelations

in Black And White5 months ago (edited)

The Christopher Columbus Necropolis in Havana is one of the most silent and uncrowded places in the city (depending on how you look at it), but also one of the places that contains the most art within its walls. Death and art in a conjunction are a little difficult to assimilate for some, while for others, it is a journey of new discoveries, every time they decide to enter that vast landscape of marbles and tombstones. I count myself in the latter group, but I will not deny that my heart flutters a little in the midst of so much solemnity and sadness.

A few days ago, I went and I did not visit it as I would have liked because it is very large and its solitude lends itself to many things, which it is preferable not to mention here. There are always unscrupulous people from whom it is better to beware, right?

So I just walked along its main street, which is where the pantheons of the wealthiest personalities of Cuba, and the most significant in various fields, whether political, social and cultural in the past, as well as other monuments noted for their greatness and symbolism. There you can appreciate many details that have very curious meanings in relation to death and the passage to the afterlife.

This cemetery is an undisputed architectural and sculptural jewel, which is why it is considered one of the most important cemeteries in the world.

Of course, I couldn't pass up the opportunity to show these black and white captures. I hope you enjoy them and with these images, I subscribe to my commitment to return there, in search of the best kept stories of this city and its people. There are all kinds, from inspirational and faith-filled, to downright creepy. This is my entry in the #Monomad Challenge.




clpx9d4ay03zi8eszhabeaewf__1320764.webp
The entrance of the Cemetery is crowned with this sculptural ensemble that alludes to Faith, Hope and Charity. It reaches a height and length of 21.66 and 34 meters, respectively.
clpx9d9io002l3xszcel72zpz__1320749.webp
This scene of the great entrance, seen from the interior, it is also a work of the Cuban sculptor José Vilalta Saavedra, and represents the Resurrection of Lazarus.
clpx9e0nv04268rsz9vso2t72__1320701.webp
Here I got a little scared, I confess. So much silence and solitude, me looking through the viewfinder and this man walks by...
clpx9dvhv03xw7lsz5hqkaowa__1320683.webp
Sculpture crowning the monument to the firefighters. It is very interesting and deserves only one publication to tell its story, through details.
clpx9ektb03u483sz4xl40ml0__1320712.webp
How much affliction in this angel.... and if you look at her well, she seems to be alive. Look at her veins!
clpx9emn0000hbhszdsjn3qkx__1320721_1.webp
When I looked at this scene, the little angel was praying, and I could feel at this moment a lot of peace.
clpx9f0lp03zl8eszf3xxd5ev__1320733_1.webp
That's why I say it's a place where you'll never have an identical photo... this is me experimenting.
clpx9f9gn0002wmsz26tv8hm5__1320739_1.webp
... light for that spirit and strength for the family. I felt a bit of sadness when I took this picture.
clpx9foln000fl9szbpovfhwq__1320684.webp
Replica of Michaelangelo's Pieta, in the Pantheon of Don Miguel Gonzalez de Mendoza y Pedroso, an illustrious personage born in Havana in the middle of the XIX century.
clpx9fq0v03y6cdsz3h1econk__1320679.webp
This other Pietá, sculpted by a great Cuban artist, Rita Longa (Havana, Cuba, June 14, 1912 - ibidem, May 29, 2000), can be appreciated in the Aguilera Family Pantheon.



Original content by @nanixxx. All rights reserved ©, 2023.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

You are very good with black and white photos but for the place where you took them and the solemnity they are very good.
In cemeteries you also have to be careful. Excellent post.

@nanixxx un lugar muy bello o por lo menos a sí lo has recogido con tu cámara. Has creado unos pequeños momentos que llaman a la reflexión con una cámara que, seguramente no sabe, que la quieres cambiar por otra. Un saludo muy grande

seguramente no sabe, que la quieres cambiar por otra.

Oh, 🤐 ¡qué atento eres a los detalles! 😄

No es que la quiera cambiar así tan burdamente... 😅, es que necesito mejorar un poco, porque para lo que realmente disfruto hacer, que es fotos de deportes, ella no es buena. Sin embargo, la amo. 😉

Me alegra esta explicación, hacéis muy buena pareja 😀

😇 gracias

I thought there were electricity wires in the cemetery too, but then I realized it was a photo from the street, looking toward the entrance. I think at least it is a shot from the street - I should ask the nun haha

The angel with veins is a very beautiful monument and photo!

Yes, it is from the street. And the nun was here with her gelatinous thing.

_1320760.JPG

I knew you would say this about the angel. 😇

Hay leche condensada en La Crem de la Crem?

😁 seguramente

🥂

copas? quieres Ron, Gin tonic, something else?

Creo que mejor no. Anoche he ido a un party y tomé mistela. Unfortunately.
El día de hoy empezó con ibuprofeno 🙄

Unas imágenes preciosas y que encierran un gran valor artístico. Lindo post.

Las esculturas, monumentos y panteones de este cementerio son verdaderamente obras de arte y merecen ser admiradas. Es para mí un gran placer fotografiar tanta belleza. ¡Gracias @babyl!

He ido muchas veces a ese cementerio... tiene un gran valor patrimonial... recuerdo que una vez fui con mi profesor de escultura a ver el lado técnico de la realización de las maravillosas esculturas que allí se encuentran.... gracias por el lente

Seguro que fue muy provechosa esa visita con su profesor. Gracias a usted, @pinero, por su apoyo y valoración.

With these pictures you made me take a trip back in time and place... it made me remember when I was a child and went with my grandfather to the cemetery, I may be crazy but I always liked cemeteries, it is a place of peace .... am I crazy? hahaha.

Beautiful, beautiful pictures! Thank you Nani!😀

It is truly a place of peace and eternal rest. ;)

Thanks to you 🤗

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you very much @brumest and @qurator Team ;)

Congratulations @nanixxx! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 80000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I'm sad because I lost the badge to post every day :(

I didn't notice the time change, I thought I had until 8 pm local time, and to make matters worse my Frida video took a while to upload. What a shame.

Hello @nanixxx, we're sorry to hear about your missed badge. Time changes can indeed be tricky!
But don't worry, you still have many opportunities to earn more badges. Keep up the good work and don't let this small setback discourage you.