You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Throwback Time: Tetons Edition

in Black And White2 years ago

I've never seen those mountains before. Very jagged peaks. Are there no foothills there?

Your first shot gave me an instant feeling of peacefulness (it's not been a peaceful day). You've got some nice contrasts in there. Fourth photo is my favourite. I'm partial to being close to mountains and those are unusual. Maybe you'll make it into the mountains next trip.

Sort:  

No foothills really, it's mostly just flat scrub brush or grassland, then Jackson Lake and then on the far shore the mountains just jut up. Never seen anything quite like it and I've seen my fair share of mountains.

That first shot is from my attempt to shoot the sunrise, it was maybe 0730 and just so quiet and calm and peaceful. Thank you! I grew up in the Appalachian Mountains, so I'm quite partial to them as well :D Fingers crossed!

You're welcome!

That's quite interesting, no foothills. I've been studying mountain ranges the last year or so. I've seen some unusual stone formations. This is one of those. I'm going to search on the internet to see more. Have you ever been to Devil's Mountain or the Petrified Forest National Park?

Fingers crossed!

Done! lol

Yeah, I'd never seen the like before. I'd spent a month or so wandering the Rockies in Colorado immediately prior to heading for the Tetons, the difference caught me by surprise. Speaking of unusual stone formations, are you familiar with hoodoos? They have no connection to the Tetons but they're one of the more interesting ones I've happened across.

Never been to either I don't think. Where's Devil's Mountain located?

That's what it made me think of, since I've been to the Rockies in Canada. It's such an extreme notable difference.

I'm not familiar with the hoodoos but I will be after today, thanks for that. You've been there in person?

Devil's Mountain is in Wyoming. I've never been there though. The rock formation fascinated me for several reasons. One of them is that the stone structure is identical to The Giant's Causeway in Ireland.