Monomad Challenge : The March Sun Thru a Heat Bubble

in Black And White3 years ago

PXL_20210227_170514532_edited.jpeg

On a blistery walk yesterday, I noticed a heating "bubble" still standing at a local park. Meant to keep park-goers warm during the brutal January and February temperatures, the heaters had long been taken away, but the ten remains. I snuck inside, looked to the low noon Sun, and grabbed a photograph with my Pixel 5.

Sort:  

Pretty cool snap.

Bubbles to keep people warm at the park. This, my friend, is blowing my Aussie mind. We don't have such things here. No need really. It covers the whole park?

Lol - I didn't think of that...no bubble to keep the entire park warm. Just little pockets of bubbles scattered around the park...this one is big enough to hold 6-7 picnic tables, so quite a few people.

It's a thing over here recently...lots of restaurants started rolling out "bubble outdoor seating" in the winter months to get more tables. Then when COVID hit, bubbles starting "blowing up everywhere" (no pun intended) at taverns/restaurants. I think it might be something that sticks.

It's a pretty cool idea and I guess most needed up your way. It's difficult for me to really comprehend the cold I guess, but bubbles to keep people warm speaks volumes. If you come to Australia in summer you better bring a bubble with air conditioning because...Well, you know. It's not cold.

Ha, yeah - my northern blood would struggle in that climate I think (and northern complexion in that sun, too). I would need an AC rigged HAZMAT suit, I think.

The bubbles are pretty cool; we haven't dined out in one yet, but the ones in the park were perfect for cold nights...just a bit of warmth to get feeling back in one's toes and fingers. Plus, it's always fun to see the occasional drunk college kid curled up in one in the restaurant bubbles near campus at 500 am in the morning. Hey, I'm not proud of it, but I've been there before back in the day! Definitely not one to judge!

AC-rigged HAZMAT suit...Dude I was born here and I reckon I'd love one of those too! A bugger when one must pee though.