CAT TOWN NEAR THE BIG HOTEL

in Photo-essay2 months ago (edited)

Today, after finishing some work in the center, I drove to the tourism-oriented, seaside part of the city, a place called Verudela. The city in question is Pula, of course, the nearest one to my hometown.

(Enlargeable)

This is the Park Plaza Arena Hotel. Behind the hotel, less than fifty meters from the building ...

(Enlargeable)

... I found a much smaller structure that looked like a hotel or condominium building made for cats. The thing wasn't easy to spot ...

(Enlargeable)

... becouse it's situated in a shady place that looks like some kind of artificial canyon behind a summer restaurant that offers Grill & Pizza. The canyon was part of the Austro-Hungarian fortification built in the period from 1881 to 1886.

(Enlargeable)

The cats were enjoying the day in the sunny place above the canyon.

(Enlargeable)

This one was posing very close to the edge.

(Enlargeable)

Here you can take a look at the makeshift workshop at the bottom of the canyon. The cat town was probably created here.

(Enlargeable)

In these two shots, you can see a cat taking care of its fur.

(Enlargeable)

I don't know what to tell you about the cat shown in this photograph. It's a lovely cat with blue eyes, that's all. In the following photograph ...

... the same cat is crossing the narrow path that leads along the edge of the canyon and further toward the Park Plaza Arena Hotel.

(Enlargeable)

A bit later, when I left the cats ...

(Enlargeable)

... I came across another group of cat houses partially hidden by the shrubs near the edge of the canyon.

(Enlargeable)

Some of those houses are brown ...

... others are white. At this point, I was on the way to the hotel.

(Enlargeable)

The hotel and its surrounding structures scattered around the neat pine groves of Verudela are prevalently white as well.

(Enlargeable)

White or almost white.

These suites look lika a series of bungalows glued together in a neat line. In the following photograph ...

(Enlargeable)

... I zoomed in on the entrances.

(Enlargeable)

Here you can see the main building of the Park Plaza Arena complex.

(Enlargeable)

The hotel was built in 1963. Its name was Hotel Park back then. After the
thorough renovation in 2015 - 2016, the name was changed to Park Plaza Arena Hotel.

(Enlargeable)

I'm not interested in hotels and resorts in general, but I did enjoy photographing the patterns that this piece of Pula's tourist infrastructure had to offer.

(Enlargeable)

Here you can see some antennae and stuff on the roof.

(Enlargeable)

The pale, almost white colors of the building go very well along with the intense blue of the sky on a sunny day like this. The blue and turquoise reflected in the windows also look very good.

(Enlargeable)

In the distance, a group of five small sailing boats was doing some maneuvering on the blue surface of the sea.

(Enlargeable)

I had to use all the zooming my Canon PowerShot SX60 HS camera can provide to bring them closer.

(Enlargeable)

The scene was soothing and refreshing at the same time. Well, it was to me, at least.

(Enlargeable)

This is a detail from the children's playground near the hotel.

(Enlargeable)

Here you can take another look at the merged bungalows introduced earlier in the post.

(Enlargeable)

The trees provide plenty of shade on a hot summer day when the place is teeming with tourists and make the hotel and its surroundings look much better in general.

(Enlargeable)

Near the coastal rocks, the pines are contorted, and therefore, even more interesting to me. In the following photograph ...

(Enlargeable)

... you can take a good look at the rocks.

(Enlargeable)

This lovely inlet covered with white limestone pebbles is called " The Hawaiian Beach".

(Enlargeable)

I didn't know that before seeing the info board shown in this photograph. I mean "Havajsko" means "Hawaiian" in my language but someone changed two letters to turn the word into "Hajvansko".
"Hajvan" means "beast or livestock animal" in Bosnian but it can also be used to describe a human being that lacks a bit of intelligence or character, or it behaves too wildly.
I had a good laugh here. I love to see the boring, glamourized tourist stuff turned into something wild or funny.
As you can notice in many of my posts, I don't have much respect or regard for the typical tourism-oriented aesthetics, branding, and all that stuff that many find appealing. I find that crap stupidity-inducing and boring as hell.

(Enlargeable)

Here you can take another look at the coastal trees.

(Enlargeable)

Before returning to the car and driving away ...

(Enlargeable)

... I photographed another set of merged bungalows.

The blue railings are the element that makes these look slightly different from the bungalows I showed earlier in the post.

This is the Cardamine hirsuta ...

... one of the small wild plants that grow on a decorative stone in the small square between two sets of bungalows.

AND THAT'S IT. AS ALWAYS HERE ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

You made me LOL with your tourist beach translation.

I didn't know Bosnia had such beautiful beaches!

Love the "pattern" you mention as well. The first hotel and the second one of only the windows. Very neat. Very balanced! I'd have it on my wall 🔥

Your compositions in your photos have leveled up big time, BTW! Now moving into Fine Art for sure ✨️

They feel totally different to your wanderings and wondering photos. Like what's happening here too. Very much!

Thanks. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed this seaside tour.
🙂
Hehehe Bosnia has great forests, beautiful mountains, valleys, and rivers. Here only the word is Bosnian the rest is in Croatia.

Yes, the geometric patterns on otherwise kinda boring, copy-paste buildings can look surprisingly good in photographs.

Have a great day. 🙂

Oh yes.

Saw some of Croatia in a series and must visit now! Gorgeous 😍

You too, B

Enjoy the creativity 💥🫡

Hello, are you fine, missed reading from you and it's been over 5days now. Just checking in.

Hi 🙂 Glad to hear you. I don't have much time for posting and other virtual stuff lately but I'll publish a long post about insects this evening.

Wow, glad to know you're fine and will be sharing a long-form post. Stay safe.

That small structure of a cat house is truly amazing...I have never visited such a place...the cat with blue eyes is damn cute 😄😍
Have a great day 🙂

God knows I can’t visit the cat town, hehe
I’m always scared of cats no matter how cute they can be

🙂 I'm only scared of lions, tigers, and those kinds of cats. 🐱

Hehehehe your title was apt for the post!

😸😃🏢

I loved this combination of cats and vacation spot hehe

🏢🙂🐱🐱🙂🏢

You did a nice walk, I liked the cat condominium, hehe, but my favourites were the sea landscapes. 😍
@sagarkothari88 vote

Thank you. 🙂 Glad you like this seaside walk.

The images are quite interesting. And I love looking at cats that look really fat.

Yes, 😀 Fat cats are cute pets.

Very lovely and topnotch shots!

The cats looked pretty, as well as the beautiful shots on the sailboats.

Where did such a beautiful cat come from?

The cat look charming

Great work, @borjan!
!BBH

@borjan! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @silversaver888. (10/20)

Thanks. 🙂 Glad you like the post.

Great tour, I loved the condominiums for cats, it's a nice one, although I am very much scared of cats. Great shots as always.

You were really able to take quality and amazing shots

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!