2021-03 - VHS to DVD Log

in THE 2020s3 years ago (edited)

I went through over 53 VHS video tapes in the month of March of 2021 in and for my ongoing VHS to DVD Project as seen in Part 01 and Part 02 of my VHS to DVD Log.


I kept track of 53 tapes which I went through, some which were copied to DVD. Some of the tapes may not be part of my home videos but I really wanted to double-check and verify the contents of all the tapes which my mom kept all of these years and/or others too maybe, long story.


Part 01 covers VHS 60 to 75.


Part 02 covers VHS 76 to 113.




VHS to DVD Log

March 2021 | Part 01 | Part 02


About Me

Art | Articles | Audio | Autobiography | Contact | GIFs | Hobbies | Memes | Music | Photos | Support | Videos | Websites | Etc




2021-03 - VHS to DVD Log

Oatmeal Daily - 2021-04-03 - Saturday | Published in April of 2021



By Oatmeal Joey Arnold

Home | Directory | Accounts | Oatmeal Brother | Oatmeal English | Oatmeal Health | Oatmeal Joey | Topics | Timeline




Part 01 covers VHS 60 to 75


Pippen vs Kobe in 2000.jpeg


Pippen Guarding Kobe in 2000


You can find Pippen & Kobe in my March 2021 Part 01 Log.

In Part 01, VHS 61 includes that NBA basketball game between the Portland Trail-Blazers or Jail-Blazers and the Los Angeles Lakers which was played on Christmas Day of 2000.


I remember recording that game, I was 15 years old and I grew up around 20 miles west of Portland, Oregon, USA. So, I was a big fan of the Blazers as a kid. I kind of grew out of it as I got older. But this was one of the things I recorded with the help of a VCR.


Part 01 my VHS to DVD March 2021 Log includes VHS tapes 60 to 75. This particular item is an example of just one of those tapes. I want to remind you that this project of mine has been ongoing for at least two decades now. What you see right now is probably pretty boring and probably just for me kind of content.


Some of the videos included on my lists are copied to DVD and/or hard drives on computers and/or the Internet and/or whatever else there might be, different formats, places, etc. But some of the VHS tapes which says "NO DVD" (as seen in my log) were not copied to DVD.


My general rule is if it's unique enough, rare enough, special enough, a home video, something I can't find anywhere else, something I really want, something I think people need, etc, then I may try to copy them. If not, I may try to mention them in my log diary and simply move on.


Some of these tapes may have been the tapes of me, my family, my mother, my father, my two sisters, my brother, friends, relatives, other people, etc. But some of these tapes may be not related to me or to people directly connected to me kind of thing. We started recording to VHS via VCR machines in the 1980s and I try to keep track of that in my logs. There may be some things even older than that out there somewhere.


Part 01 of my VHS to DVD March 2021 Log has some home videos of me and my siblings minus the eldest during the Christmas of like 2001 or 2002 or something in VHS 60.


Me and my brother made a funny animation movie called Runaway Lady in like 1996 or 1997 as seen in VHS 62. Power Rangers 3 is on VHS 63.


Part 02 covers VHS 76 to 113


Ramona on PBS.png

Ramona was a fun series to watch as a kid on PBS


On VHS 77, there are several episodes of Ramona which aired on PBS in the 1980s. There were probably around ten episodes filmed in I think Canada around that time. I think it was exactly ten episodes and that was it. I think all the episodes or most of them were recorded to this VHS tape or to several different ones by my mom in the late 1980s. Yes, Ramona had 10 episodes according to Wikipedia.

Ramona

Ramona originally aired on PBS from September 10, 1988 to January 21, 1989 and were probably all recorded via a VCR by my mom as each episode premiered and aired for the first time and/or the reruns as well. I was born in 1985 and remember watching some of these either when they first aired or the reruns on television and/or on the VCR. Ramona was a girl who was probably a few years older than me and I kind of liked her. But I was kind of too young for liking girls until I got a little bit older.

Joey Puppets

VHS 81 includes a puppet show I filmed in 2000.


Purpose of Logs

As of right now, I don't have all my videos on the Internet and I definitely don't have links from my log here to some of the videos. The purpose of a log is to help me see what I did and that is it for now.


I want to be clear that a log is for the record and not for entertainment purposes, I am simply making lists of the videos, the audio, etc, that I may or may not have. I also copy some of it to DVD, etc. As I look at VHS, DVD, etc, I take notes in my logs.


If I have any questions, comments, etc, I could then look back at my log as opposed to trying to dig up VHS tapes and then dig up an old rusty VCR machine to figure out what might be on it.


A log is a good foundation and recording some of the videos to DVD is the next step in the process. I've been through different versions of this VHS to DVD project. I've talked and written about it off and on for the past 21 years or so, I've been working on some of it since then. I'm not going to bore you with all the details regarding all of that right now.


One of my goals is in keeping logs of some of the stuff I have and some of the things I did and some of the things that happened. Another goal is in simply having backup copies of some of videos, photos, articles, posts, other things, etc. Specifically, video and audio backup is very important to me. I try to make copies of my work and other things too. I try to have backups in different places.


Later on, I could try to George Lucas Special Edition my Star Wars meaning that I care about my stuff like George cares about his films and I always want to edit them or turn them into music videos or whatever. But I can get distracted on that and never get around to organizing my stuff.


So, that is why I try to make myself organize some of my stuff before I get lost in the weeds or in the woods of editing and other things. But first things first. A major priority involves archiving some of my videos or at least in keeping a record or a log of my videos and detailing transactions, notes, etc.


And then I could do special things with my stuff after I build a foundation for them first.