You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2021-08-28

in THE 2020s3 years ago

Speaking of, I think Bittrex and Poloniex stole my money or technically speaking, they said they deactivated my accounts due to inactivity after like something like 2 years or whatever it was. I am not happy about that. I can't remember if I have tried Coin Base. I will need to double check.


By the way, I've not done Bitcoin mining. Maybe I should. In the past, I've experimented with a few Bitcoin type faucets but I don't think I've ever been able to actual withdraw any of that which basically makes all of that counterproductive like a scam where they use your RAM, your resources, your CPU, whatever the case might be, for mining, in theory you might be getting a percentage of that which might be what a faucet is. But it doesn't really benefit the user if the user can't withdraw it. And perhaps some Bitcoin Faucets do work and can be withdrawn. But I've not done it yet.

Sort:  

I've had similar experience in the past.
You need one big name trusted on ramp and a wallet.
I never leave my crypto in one place for long.
Some sites will yank funds for inactivity.
Now tge government will do the same.
Never leave it sit unattended.
I constantly monitor mine.

 3 years ago  

That is why you should keep Bitcoin on a desktop wallet and not a website. In other words, make sure you have a seed which is 12 random words, like a pass key. When you are on a website, you will probably not have a seed minus a website like this one, Hive Blog, Ecency, Steemit, etc. You may have access to a seed here. Well, that depends on how your account here was created I think. I somebody else created your account on Hive, then they probably have a seed or master password for your account. And I mean specifically that there should be a seed. But crypto exchanges don't give you the seed. So, they have control over your money. And that can be dangerous.