You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FiveW-Wednesday (Who & Why)- Photo Games, Season 3, Week 8

in PhotoGames3 years ago

From the old days when I tried to be serious about photography, I remember being dazzled by Ansel Adams’ breathtaking views and Henri Cartier-Bresson’s extraordinary timing and understanding of human nature. Back then, my thing was street photography, and Cartier-Bresson was my inspiration.

But I also liked nature photography. I still remember a time when, while leafing an American PHOTO issue, three pictures caught my attention. There was an article about a series by Jim Brandenburg. It had been published in a National Geographic Magazine issue that my parents had at home. When I could finally have it and appreciate it, I was enthralled. I just watched the photos again and again, as if trying to capture the light or something. I believe I have unknowingly been influenced by his photography since then, but I did not think of it until I read what @itchyfeetdonica asked. Most likely, every time I shoot one of the plants that grow in the garden, I try to capture the light the way Brandenburg does.

Nowadays, I find my inspiration in movies. That is something I had not realized until I started thinking my answer.
But all in all, I am also a bit of a stray dog, like @wnfdiary. I have been taking pictures of street scenes, daily life, plants, and tiny little things that not many people will notice. And I do not have a particular idea or photographer in mind. I just follow my eye. That is why I say what @sjarvie5 quoted: I see pictures everywhere. It is not that I am actively seeking, but that I see something and compose a picture in my mind. Then I say: “there is a picture there”; “this is a picture.”

Sort:  

Cartier-Bresson has influenced me too. I did more street photos before Covid and they took a large part in my posts here, especially when I just joined a few years ago. And Fan Ho is regarded by some as the Cartier-Bresson in China. :)
I just looked up Jim Brandenburg, stunning photos of nature and wildlife!
"I see pictures everywhere", this is so true, that's one of the reasons I always enjoy traveling alone (or with very patient families/friends), as no one will get frustrated when I have to stop everywhere to take photos. =)

Thanks for your answer. I went and looked up Jim Brandenburg. Beautiful. I think I was also influenced by the National Geographic magazines that were always in my home. Thanks for helping me remember that. There is so much inspiration all around us and it is fun to learn about other people's interests, like street photography, and want to see Henri Cartier-Bresson's photography.

I can say Cartier-Bresson is still my absolute favorite.
And what you say is true: inspiration is all around us.

Having National Geographic magazines at home has been wonderful. In the nineties, a friend gave me Odyssey: The Art of Photography at National Geographic as a present. Stunning photos in every page.