Woken up by an earthquake...

in Liketulast year



cle38amuk00eg3bszc4wv790w_20230201_131824-01.webp
cle38at2v00ey3xszgr6sa2aj_20230201_131736-01.webp
cle38axmc00eb22szcvvfgdrc_20230201_131746-01.webp
cle38b62l00dp3ksza6sydqgw_20230201_131845-01.webp
cle38b7cm00gu8psz2s0c83da_20230201_114012-01.webp

Earthquakes are not nice... I have so far experienced about three of them if I remember correctly, and none has had any severe implications on myself or anything surrounding me. Turkey and Syria got hit really hard by earthquakes lately and according to some folks on Twitter, it seems that something like 30,000 people have died so far.

Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Hungary, Kosovo, Montenegro, Romania, Slovakia, and Serbia got hit by 5 degrees on a Richter scale earthquake this afternoon as well. The epicenter of the quake in my country was located about 120 kilometers away from my town.

I was sleeping when it happened and basically got woken by it and the nasty feeling that it gets you when everything starts shaking. I was in my living room, on the couch having a "power nap" and all of a sudden at around 18:00 the room started shaking, the doors and furniture got noisy and I instantly jumped out of bed knowing for sure that I could not blame the noise neighbors for that.

I instantly remembered that the best place to set yourself during earthquakes is in between the door beams and that's what I did. After the whole thing was over, which lasted only something like six seconds or so, I got out... I know it was a bad idea but I did it anyway.

According to some Romanian news outlets, a lighter earthquake of only 3 degrees on the Richter scale followed the 5 degrees one in less than an hour. That one went unnoticed though. Although short-lived, the experience has been quite scary, that's for sure.

What's with the pics? Well...

The pics are not taken during the actual thing, just to make that clear :). I actually took em from downtown during my daily walk. Other than that we've had a pretty nice day in this part of the world with plenty of sun and quite warm temperatures. How was your Monday, by the way?

Thanks for your attention,
Adrian


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

That's pretty scary - I'm glad you're okay ! I've heard that when there's a big quake like the one in Turkey and Syria last week, it's quite common that the release of stress in one fault line can cause others to move. I just hope that's the last one for a while !

I hope that too.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @acesontop ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

But I'm glad you're okay over there !

I am. It was a bit scary but no material damage or anything like that. Thanks.

Glad that you're alright and everything is back to normal. The pictures are beautiful btw. Full of life.

Oh, it can't be a good feeling to be awakened by an earthquake. I was at my desk writing my post when the chair started shaking and with it everything else. But only felt it for 3 or 4 seconds and it wasn't very intense.