This his how we spent the first day of our vacation

in Liketu2 years ago



cl6j96pdy00uz0ikf1dj6fo6l_IMG_7503.webp
cl6j96uiq00xi2okf1gzl1ntd_reststop.webp
cl6j978s100wb1hkfgv4m46rr_IMG_1440.webp
cl6j97i4k00v20ikfcivzc8cj_IMG_1438.webp
cl6j97utd00xl2okf13ng2ohm_IMG_1442.webp
cl6j988t700v80ikf9utieo07_IMG_7505.webp
cl6j98j2m00vl29kff1i1hzlu_IMG_7509.webp
cl6j98mxx00ut0pkf04tfd2id_IMG_1444.webp
cl6j994g500w81tkf69vfh5qc_IMG_1453.webp
cl6j997ip00we1hkf3u03h4a6_IMG_1396.webp

We left WV at 10 am on Friday morning. 4.5 hours later we arrived at our Ocean City, MD halfway point of Hagerstown, MD. I listened to most of the new Elon Musk interview on the Full Send podcast to help pass the time.

We only stopped once at a rest area during our drive. As soon as I got out of my car to run inside of the restroom, another cool car pulled in right next to me. It was a new Acura TLX. Even stock, I think those are pretty cool sports sedans. However, this guy had some gorgeous white Forgiato wheels to go with the white paint job of the car. White on white looked so clean, especially since these wheels probably cost the dude anywhere from $5k-$7k I'm guessing. Forgiatos are one of the best brands of wheels you can get. So of course I had to pay my respects to the guy whenever he got out of the car. He said thanks and complimented my ride, then waved as he drove off a few minutes later bumping some bass-heavy music.

It wasn't long after this that we arrived at our Airbnb in South Hagerstown. It was pretty nice on the inside, but there were definitely many problems that we found right away. Mainly, the listing was not as described. Instead of being an entire home like it said on the listing, we were housed in a basement of a house with a loud family above us. We had a separate entrance in the backyard (which was under construction and nothing but dirt and high grass), but there was a door that we were unable to lock that led right upstairs to this random family. On top of that, we were totally unable to lock the only entrance/exit from the outside. It was lockable once we were inside luckily, so we were able to sleep fine. However each time we left the Airbnb to go do something, we had to take all of our valuables with us. I guess they thought since they were in a nice residential neighborhood and had cameras pointed at the door, that would be enough. Well, it wasn't. Oh, and there were rotting pumpkins being used as "decorations" on one of the shelves. Probably one of the worst, yet not totally horrific Airbnb experiences that I've ever had. I am now going to have to write my first ever negative review on Airbnb.

Everything else about the day was pretty great.

We went to eat at this delicious restaurant called Rik's Cafe. I ordered a Cuban burger with a nice beef patty, pulled pork, and thick slices of deli meat on it. @flowerbaby ordered a Reuban sandwich. Then we finished it off with an order of Xango (fried cheesecake). Everything was delicious.

There was a Goodwill next door to the restaurant, so we briefly went inside and spent maybe $12 each on some random clothing items.

We came back to relax for an hour afterward. I played some Assassin's Creed Valhalla on my new Backbone One PlayStation Edition while she read a book on her Kindle. While we were chilling, I got word that it was randomly flooding back home, which hardly ever happens. Luckily our place is totally fine, but right by the market I go to multiple times a week, the entire street was flooded.

We soon decided to go to a few more places. @flowerbaby loves creepy stuff and graveyards are one of her favorite things to walk through. She is enamored with trying to find the oldest headstones. We went to Rose Hill Cemetery and explored for a bit. It was desolate there, only one other car. We must have seen 30-40 deer running around though.

We headed towards Tropical Smoothie Cafe once we finished our spooky walk. Right before we arrived, we decided to go inside a discount store called Burlington. We found even more good stuff there. For the first time ever, I found cryptocurrency shirts at one of these stores. 4 to be exact, but only 3 in my size. Of course, my favorite one was only in a small. The other three are pretty cool though. One talking about "When Lambo" in a retro 80s style, a Bitcoin/Ethereum one, and a Doge shirt with a bunch of dogs. I'm not a fan of Doge, but I'm certainly a fan of the memes. Also, I didn't get a chance to take a photo of the shirts, but I will be wearing them soon I'm sure, and will be sure to take some photos.

To finish off the night, we came back to the Airbnb and watched this new movie called "Prey" on Hulu. It is related to the Predator films and my goodness was it good. I highly recommend you check that one out.

I'm writing all of this on Saturday morning as we are preparing to depart for the beach. We have about 4 hours left on our drive, just slightly shorter than our drive yesterday. We are planning on going to get some breakfast at a place called J's Diner as we are leaving town. I saw Oreo Pancakes and Boba Tea on their menu, so I know my girl will be happy.

Thanks for reading and looking at some of my photos. I look forward to sharing some of what we end up doing with my family at the beach for the next 6 days.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @daltono ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

What a day for the both of you. Thanks for sharing!

Too bad on the airbnb. I haven’t had a negative experience so far, and I really trust what they have listed in the description. Now I need to be more careful since this happened to you.

So rare to see flood there. Actually I didn’t know it also floods there.

Anyways, nice to see you two are having fun despite the negative things that happened. 😊

I’ve only had one worse Airbnb experience. That one I didn’t even check into due to the condition when I arrived. Almost always Airbnbs turn out great. This one we at least stayed, but the listing was full of lies and half truths. We still managed to have a great time there. We checked reviews when we booked several months ago, there weren’t any negatives.. however once we got there we looked at the recent reviews and all were negative. Guess that just means we need to re-check reviews before the cancelation date.

Flooding in my area of WV is pretty rare. Only a couple of times in 30 years has it been really bad. Can’t control nature though, very unpredictable.

Thanks for taking a look 🫣

Oh so you guys booked it way before..
Yeah maybe it got pretty bad recently. Maybe just a bad timing but at least you still had a great time.

Only couple of times? Wow that must be a nice place to live.
Other places got it worse. After only a few hours of rain, there's already flood.

Prey was such a good movie. I think it may have been on par, if not better, than the original Predator movie.

I knew that I was going to like Prey, but it was even better than I was expecting. The native tribes mixed with alien tech and a nearly invincible Predator. Shit was just too cool. I hope they continue the franchise in that direction. Although the old ones are great too.

I love it! I can tell you guys had a great time, your smiles filled me with smiles. God bless you, I was waiting for these pictures. It's like traveling through them and seeing new places, haha! I love the smiles on both of your faces. Wonderful

Thank you so much. Many more photos to come. Beach photos are always my favorite.

Good stuff. Cannot wait for the follow-up story. How long your vacations are going to last?

!HBIT

We are finishing up day 3 of 7 as I type this reply. About to get some rest before another day at the beach tomorrow.

Isn't the beach day the rest day?

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | subscribe | <>< daily

Contest: Nominate a symbol for the quark.

I also love spooky stuff cause halloween is life 😂

You and her would surely get along well then. We have watched hundreds of horror movies together. She just got a Chucky t-shirt the other day actually.

it is known. Love spooky shit.

The vacation is off to a great start and if your first meal is any indication the rest is gonna be awesome lol . How incongruous to have basement lodgings at an airbnb. Struck me as pretty funny lol.

May you two enjoy the rest of your vacation!!

Going to be hard to top those first two meals. They were so delicious.
The Airbnb reminded me of when I was struggling and stuck living in my parents basement for awhile. Not what I was expecting that's for sure.

Intermittent down sides just make the upside all the more sweet :)

We try to always find a reason to be happy. It’s easy when we have each other.

wow cool impressions!

@tipu curate

What are you reading @flowerbaby ?

Right now she is trading The Sun Down Motel on the beach. But she is reading multiple books right now 😅

From what I'm reading, your vacations are going very well, let's hope it continues like this since they are just beginning. You know that if $100 for a controller seems like an exorbitant price, imagine $5K for some wheels.

You make a great point. Many of us always find a way to justify spending way too much on something that we desire.

there was a door that we were unable to lock that led right upstairs to this random family

Maybe they were trying to promote community interaction, lol. Just kidding. Sorry about you guys' experience. An honest review is in order, you might help other travelers and maybe even the Airbnb hosts can improve.

Maybe they were, just should have put that in their listing rather than telling us we had the entire unit... we had the basement 😂 our personal review to the host was nice, but honest and they hopefully will listen. Our public review didn’t trash them, but we did want to make people aware that the listing was inaccurate.

I am pretty sure you had a lot of fun.

You are correct 😜

Enjoy those holidays :D

Thanks! We are enjoying things tremendously so far.

Yes!

Those were some CHIPS (fries)

can't wait to see that movie!

😊😎🤙

You will LOVE that movie. It’s very primal.

Nice to see you are having a good time, and that what vacation are for,take care

Thanks bro. Trying to enjoy every second of this.

untitled.gif

Food is always one of the best parts of any vacation.

i agree 100% :D

Have a great time 💐💐

Thank you! 😌

That is cool
Am glad you are having a pleasant time
!ALIVE
!LOLZ

@daltono! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @adysscheryl. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Enjoy your vacations @daltono!!

Congratulations @daltono! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz supports the HiveFest⁷ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the July PUM Winners
Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day

Great to see you spend time with your lady love. I recently went out with my friends to an 8-ball pool area. Have you tried pool?

?daltono
The beautiful moment in life will be a memory like this.
Good stuff Cannot wait for the follow-up story. How long your vacations are going to last
Nice to see you are having a good time, and that what vacation are for,take care thank you so much.

we came back to the Airbnb and watched this new movie called "Prey" on Hulu.
I highly recommend you check that one out.

That was definitely a surprise to me. I really didn't expect it to be good.