You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You don't have to be right-handed / 右利きである必要はない

in Liketulast year

I guess they (we) forget that when we go to a foreign country, we become "gaijin" too

haha that's true. But I don't mind and I in fact often use it for myself.

Anyway, you are right, it's not a good word. I don't know. I don't think a word can be bad, only how it is used. Gaikokujin can be used just as badly as gaijin. But that might be a dumb thing for me to say. Some foreigners are hurt by the word, so I also shouldn't use it.

Sort:  

The word "Gaikokujin" is often used in TV news, newspapers and other media, but I too had not given thought to the feelings of those who are hurt by it💦 Indeed, it is a word that lumps together various countries and races.

Thanks for letting me know.