You don't have to be right-handed / 右利きである必要はない

in Liketulast year



cld8ytkec00kq1csz89md7m3k_image_6483441_8.webp
cld8ytsjs00lv6kszc943gobg_image_6483441_9.webp
cld8ytpqb00m12rsz6ogsaivd_image_6487327_3.webp

【ENG】

My second son is left-handed.

When he started daycare, his daycare teacher asked me, "Do you want to correct him to right-handed?", I replied, "No". She said that my second son might have trouble with sewing and calligraphy in the future. However, I thought it would be nonsense to inconvenience him in various other situations so that he would not have trouble with sewing and calligraphy. The principal was present at the personal interview, and I reminded her that I would not correct my son to right-handed. At that time, the principal agreed with me, saying, "There are scissors for left-handed people these days, so there should be no problem".

However, a few days ago. At dinner time, I noticed that my second son was holding the chopsticks in his right hand. When I asked him why he was holding them with his right hand, he replied, "Because the principal told me to eat with my right hand at school lunch. Well... I know the principal is a good person. But she is quite old, and these days she only comes to the school on rare occasions, so I think she has forgotten the details of each child's situation.

In the past, was it common to correct children to right-handed? Certainly, every tool and space in the world is designed to be convenient for right-handed people. I do not know because I am right-handed, but my second son may feel inconvenienced in many situations in the future. When I think about it, the thought crosses my mind that it might be better for him if I correct him to be right-handed at an early age.

But my second son is very dexterous. He can make mysterious figures beautifully symmetrical when playing with blocks. He can also use scissors very well. He is also very fast at calculating two identical numbers, such as "3+3" and "5+5." I don't think a 4-year-old can think of "doubling," so I think he is quickly counting the same numbers side by side in his head. I feel this is not unrelated to the fact that my second son is left-handed. If this is the case, correcting him to be right-handed would be crushing his ability, and more importantly, the idea of trying to fit in with the majority of people pisses me off ...lol

So the next day, I told his homeroom teacher again that I would not be correcting him!




○●━━━━━━━━━━━・・・‥‥




【JPN】

次男は左利きです。

保育園に入った頃、先生から「(右手に)矯正しますか?」と訊かれたので、「しません」と答えました。将来的に縫物や書道で困るかも、と言われましたが、縫物と書道で困らないようにするために、他の様々な場面で不自由を感じさせるのもどうかと思いました。個人面談の場にも園長先生がいたので、矯正はしませんと念を押したのを憶えています。その時は園長先生も納得されて、「最近は左利き用のハサミなんかもあるからね~」と言っていました。

が、数日前。晩御飯の時、次男が何だか食べにくそうにしているなと思ったら、右手でお箸を持っていたのです。どうして右手で持っているのと尋ねると、「給食の時、園長先生に右手で食べなさいって言われたから」と。うーむ… 園長先生が良い方なのは分かっています。ただかなりのご高齢で、最近では稀にしか園に来ないので、園児一人一人の細かい事情など忘れてしまったのだと思います。。

昔は、矯正するのが当たり前だったのでしょうか。保育園の先生が当然のように「矯正しますか?」と訊いてくるということは、そうする人が多かったのかもしれません。確かに世の中のあらゆる道具や空間は、右利きに便利なように作られています。私は右利きだから分からないだけで、次男は今後色んな場面で不自由を感じることになるのかもしれません。そう思うと、早いうちに矯正してあげたほうが本人のためなのかも、という考えも頭をよぎります。

ただ、次男はすごく器用なんですよね。ブロック遊びで、謎の図形を綺麗に左右対称に作ったり。ハサミも上手に使えます。それから「3+3」「5+5」など、2つの同じ数の計算がやたらと早いです。4歳児に「倍」という考え方ができるとも思えないので、頭の中で素早く左右に同じ数を並べて数えているような気がするのです。これは次男が左利きなことと、無関係ではない気がします。もしそうだとすると、右利きに矯正することはせっかくの能力を潰すことになるし、何より大多数の人に合わせようという考えがムカつく(笑)

ということで、翌日、担任の先生に矯正はしませんのでと改めて伝えました!


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

何より大多数の人に合わせようという考えがムカつく

😂 うちは右利きなのですが、もし左利きでも私も多分矯正しないと思います。お友達の左利き一家のお子さんは左利きはそのままに作業療法に通っていると聞きました。

効き手ではないのですが、先生との面談で「子供さんすぐ泣きすぎ、静かすぎ、もっと強く」みたいなことを言われたことがあって、「みんなが(ドイツ式で)自己主張しまくったらやばいでしょ www」と内心思ったことを思い出しました。

あと、私と子供のことでいうと「何語で喋ってるの、日本語でしゃべるべき」って外野から、時には相方からも言われるのが苦手でした。。

まわりにはほどほどにはいはい言って子供の成長を応援しましょう :)

子育てが始まると、急に周囲が気軽に色々言ってくるの不思議ですよね💦長男、次男共にベビーカーで散歩していると、知らないおばあさんに声を掛けられて「母乳?!」と訊かれる率が高かったです。毎回「誰?!」って思ってました。

母乳かどうかとか、利き手や言語の問題とか全部、けっこう繊細なテーマだと思うんですけどね😅自分も今後人と話すとき、気をつけなければと思いました・・

ドイツも自己主張の国なんですね😉

I would also be angry if the teachers tried to force my son to use his right hand. I don't care if that was the old way. It was wrong to do that in the past and it is wrong now.

I usually try to be polite and calm, especially because many Japanese people expect the loud gaijin to not be these things. But I wouldn't be able to be quiet with something like that.

You did the right thing.

Thank you. Indeed, there must have been many people who were forced to use their right hand in the past, even though they were originally left-handed, and were inconvenienced. We should cherish the characteristics and talents we were born with.

Come to think of it, I don't think "gaijin" is a good word, but Japanese people often use this word. I guess they (we) forget that when we go to a foreign country, we become "gaijin" too😅😅

I guess they (we) forget that when we go to a foreign country, we become "gaijin" too

haha that's true. But I don't mind and I in fact often use it for myself.

Anyway, you are right, it's not a good word. I don't know. I don't think a word can be bad, only how it is used. Gaikokujin can be used just as badly as gaijin. But that might be a dumb thing for me to say. Some foreigners are hurt by the word, so I also shouldn't use it.

The word "Gaikokujin" is often used in TV news, newspapers and other media, but I too had not given thought to the feelings of those who are hurt by it💦 Indeed, it is a word that lumps together various countries and races.

Thanks for letting me know.

私も娘達が左利きでも矯正はしないと思います。
せっかくの能力を潰すことになる。。。その通りだと思います。これを聞いて思い出したのでリンク貼っておきます。漫画/アニメネタですみません😅
https://futaman.futabanet.jp/articles/-/122344?page=1

リンクありがとうございます😊「国際左利きの日」なんてあるんですね!確かに、スポーツ選手とか左利きの凄い選手いるかも。。

次男の運動神経はまだ???ですが、次男の色んな特徴は左利きからきているような気がして。だから無理に変えることはしないで、見守りたいと思ってます😀

私は生まれつきは左利きでした。
そして「左利きは将来苦労するから」という祖父母の判断で矯正したのですが、徹底されず(笑)
今は右手で筆記をして、左手でお箸を使っています。他にも右手と左手で得意分野があります。
こういうのを「クロスドミナンス」と呼ぶそうです。(検索したらすぐ出てきます)

幼稚園の時は、みんながちょきちょきハサミを使いこなすのが不思議でしたねー(笑)
なんであんなに紙が切れていくのか、どうなってんの?と思っていました。
自分が左利きだから、というのがわかった時、目の前の霧が晴れた気がしたのを覚えています(笑)

そういえば、左利きを矯正して、結果的に両利きになっている人多いような気がします😀あいさん色々と器用でいいなーといつも思っていましたが、元が左利きだったのですね。

せっかく左手が器用に使えるのを封印して右手に合わせる必要はないっ!と、この投稿を書いたときは若干プンスカしていたんです😅(親が矯正しないと言っているのを、保育園の先生が勝手に矯正しようとしたからかも…笑)でもきっと、元の利き手を完全に変えることは難しいんですね。その上で、利き手でない方の手も使えるようにしていく、というのはとても良いですね!

そうですよね。
セブンさんがタイトルにしている通り「右利きである必要はない」というコトだと思います。
私は自分が食事をする時は「お箸は左」ですが、料理をしている時は結構右手になっています。
これは料理を教えてくれた人が右利きだからですね。
昔のプロゴルファーの方が「私は元々は左利きだったのですが、ゴルフの指導者が右利きだったからこうなりました」と答えておられたのを聞いたことがあります。
何かを教わる場合、指導者によっても変わりますね(^^)