Winter Prepping On The Homestead

in Liketu2 years ago



cl8m1qo4p026g14kcbbgr5yw7_hive1.webp
cl8m1qq80028w2gkc600q72dv_hive22.webp
cl8m1qsl7026g1ckchnlgb9v8_hive2.webp

Summer has swiftly dissipated and now, we are heading straight into winter.
This past week, temperatures have begun to dip and I have found myself
wearing a sweatshirt inside more than once. I can’t remember the last time
that I have worn a sweatshirt inside. It was unbearable during the height of
summer with the inside temperature of my house reaching 80F. Now, my
thermostat has plummeted to reading 68F in my house! I was expecting part
of September to remain warm because I was not ready to jump into cold
temperatures this fast!

I had planned to move part of my woodpile upfront, re-brick my wood stove,
and get my upstairs fireplace operational. I have simply ran out of time and
now I am racing against the clock to get what I can done. This week will be
dedicated to re-bricking the interior of my woodstove. The bricks that line
the stove and keep it exoskeleton safe from the extreme heat are
dilapidated and I can’t go through another winter using them. I ordered
bricks for this job, and they are not cheap! I’m hoping things go smoothly,
but I know something will go wrong and a brick won’t fit in ruining the whole
puzzle…or something.

My upstairs fireplace has been on the backburner for me. I need to order a
grate for it and some sort of front. Actually, getting the front I need and
getting someone out to install it have been an absolute hinderance. Plus, my
puppy loves to lay in it as her new official cozying-up place. She makes life
difficult in the best ways.

This first summer on the homestead had me running around like a chicken
without its head. It has been WILD! Everyday something needs cleaned up,
animals need tended to, and I still stream five days a week. Busy busy.
The only thing I have managed to check off my winter prep list is get my
cow hay for the winter. I got her organic beautiful hay from a farmer I met,
and I’m so happy I did it when I did—they are now all sold out! There has
been a shortage of hay, the prices have skyrocketed, and I’m grateful I had
a personal connection to secure my cow’s “bag.” She enjoyed sampling the
menu as I unloaded hay from a bowered truck and trailer (I love my
neighbors!)

Tis’ the season and here’s to hoping I get everything done!


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

to prepare, good luck that winter is not too hard!
!LUV

Can't believe how fast winter has come already here

It does sound like you've got quite a list of things to do to prepare for winter! I'm glad you've already got some of the projects going. Sounds like the cold will be there soon!

Going to try and knock out a bunch more. The cold is coming fast!

Congratulations @gubbahomestead! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022
Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I both like and dislike preparing for winter. Dear friend, don't be tired