You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sukiya - Food Adventures of a Mall Rat #2

in Liketu2 years ago

To be honest, the big difficulty for me was adjusting to the textures of the foods. I think a lot of it has to do with being brought up eating lean, processed and easily eaten foods in the UK. Eating as a local here, the meat is terrible and as im slightly adhd, asd etc, im finickity over 'messy' food and dishes that have too many components and flavours. Its been difficult being old and set in your ways lol

The other issue is cultural. I see food as simply food and would happily just eat biscuits if thats all there was I liked but in Asia, I know food is engrained in culture so I have to make the effort. I get by, without upsetting the inlaws too much.

What a great question. Thank you. I know my wife, and an ex from HK hate the food in the UK so I dont feel too guilty, as its a two way street!

Hope you're well and how fantastic to see liketu going from strength to strength.

Best wishes.