Sukiya - Food Adventures of a Mall Rat #2

in Liketu2 years ago (edited)



cl6uzdzii002614ns49hhex68_IMG_20220729_185619.webp
cl6uze7wk00260ons60a3duts_IMG_20220729_185418.webp
cl6uzegpt00230wns8qqw0zvv_IMG_20220729_184913.webp
cl6uzepl1002814ns4ewm6n9x_IMG_20220729_184930.webp
cl6uzexvg001v2knsed0a1xnl_IMG_20220729_184712.webp
cl6uzf6g500270wnsf41dcyb5_IMG_20220729_184734.webp
cl6uzfete001w0hns6pdg9c9a_IMG_20220729_183524.webp
cl6uzfn9o00290wnsb08oc6wa_IMG_20220729_183530.webp
cl6uzfuu600280onsdtn134no_IMG_20220729_184825.webp
cl6uzg384002b0wns5z1w7hzo_IMG_20220729_185528.webp

I like to think I'm well travelled but when the wife suggested we popped into Sukiya Tokyo Bowls and Noodles, and I had never heard of the 'largest Japanese fast food chain in the world', it seems I don't know as much as I thought I did!

To be fair, I stay away from Japanese restaurants as I don't eat fish and my immediate and ignorant connection is of course, sushi. In this chain however, it was all about the rice and noodles. It also probably never stood out as in Thailand, I swear you could eat in a different restaurant chain every day of the year. There is so much choice.

The place was cool and funky as you'd expect as I love Japanese design and although this wasn't exactly minimalism, it was simple and fun. The menu offered a full range of rice bowls and ramen and it was really well priced....cheap!

I went for a simple beef rice bowl and the wife, noodles and I was really surprised. I loved it. Hot, fast and delicious and they had an English menu that you could get on your phone by scanning the QR code. They also let me swap the cold tea for a coke. Being an Englishman, tea and coffee are drunk hot, not.

Being in Asia for 10 years, I'm slowly turning into a rice connoiseur and the Japanese style was much different to what I'm used to eating daily. There wete extra condiments and chilli but being the food ignoramus I am, I have no idea what they were.

I do know that for the first time in years, I found somewhere new I liked and wanted to return to.

Do you have this chain where you are in the world?


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

I have never heard of this mob and there are quite a lot of Japanese places popping up in Scotland!

They must be copying them but pretending they are not. There is certainly nowhere that is offering cold tea. Thats window smashing territory!

Cold tea....devils work and a million franchise' here selling the rubbish in all different flavours but trying to get a hot tea with milk and no 'bubbles'...impossible.

This pic I took of one of the 'trendier' chains earlier today just about sums up cold tea in a nutshell...

Hahaha, Fuku!! I will remember that one.

Bubble tea is kicking off here. I am like wtf, give me tea!!

I haven’t seen you around lately man, what’s up?

Just drifting in and out as I'm a little busy at the moment. Thanks for asking mate :-)

I’m glad you’re back. Maybe you can tell me about the busy when you’re settled:)

@nathen007, I have always wanted to try authentic Japanese food.

Id definitely recommend this chain. Cheap and delicious.

I've always wondered what happens when one gets accustomed to one kind of diet their whole life, then starts a completely different one for an extended period of time. Did you notice much difference? Given you've been in Asia for 10 years now?

To be honest, the big difficulty for me was adjusting to the textures of the foods. I think a lot of it has to do with being brought up eating lean, processed and easily eaten foods in the UK. Eating as a local here, the meat is terrible and as im slightly adhd, asd etc, im finickity over 'messy' food and dishes that have too many components and flavours. Its been difficult being old and set in your ways lol

The other issue is cultural. I see food as simply food and would happily just eat biscuits if thats all there was I liked but in Asia, I know food is engrained in culture so I have to make the effort. I get by, without upsetting the inlaws too much.

What a great question. Thank you. I know my wife, and an ex from HK hate the food in the UK so I dont feel too guilty, as its a two way street!

Hope you're well and how fantastic to see liketu going from strength to strength.

Best wishes.