Architectural Photography: interiors of the magnificent St. Vitus Cathedral

in Liketu2 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Hivean friends and followers!

I have been unexpectedly busy in real life lately and I´m sorry that I´m coming with this post one week later than I actually promised but here we go :) After showing you the St. Vitus Cathedral, one of the most renowned pieces of Gothic architecture in Europe, from the outside here on my Hive blog two weeks ago, I will finally take you inside this extraordinary Prague church today.

You might remember how I complained about how challenging it actually is to take photos of this gigantic building from the outside as this giant church is located within relatively confined spaces of the Prague Castle Complex. Honestly, taking pictures of the interiors is not easier at all. Quite the opposite. The enormous height of the cathedral combined with the incredible curves and angles of all the vaults, arches and other architectural features dating back to long centuries ago makes it very difficult to take some decent shots that wouldn´t be too spatially distorted but me and my old phone camera still tried so now, without further ado, let me show you some of the pictures that I took inside of the cathedral :)


IMG_20220716_151328.jpg


IMG_20220716_151010.jpg


IMG_20220716_150621.jpg


IMG_20220716_151403.jpg


IMG_20220716_150859.jpg


IMG_20220716_151126.jpg


IMG_20220716_151247.jpg


IMG_20220716_151211.jpg


IMG_20220716_150925.jpg


IMG_20220716_150746.jpg


IMG_20220716_150812.jpg


closeup.jpg


I hope you enjoyed the photos. I should also mention that what you could see in them is actually just a little part of the cathedral interiors that you can observe (for free) from a restricted place just behind the main door. If you want to see more of the interiors, you can pay some extra fee and you will be allowed further inside but it was already quite late and we didn´t really feel like paying the fee anyway so we only stayed in the "free zone" behind the main door. That´s actually also where you can admire many of the highly regarded stained glass windows and mosaics from. I zoomed and cropped one my photos of them so that you can see the astonishing details of the artwork.

Now that you have seen the St. Vitus Cathedral both from the outside and inside, you know how prominent and majestic piece of medieval architecture it is and why we are so proud of it ;)

Thanks for your attention everyone and I will see you here on my blog with another Prague post next week. Spoiler alert: stunning panoramic views lovers will certainly be pleased :)


You can also check out this post on Liketu, a new photography-based platform built on Hive :)




This post was created by me for the Hive blockchain exclusively. All rights reserved.



7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmivwA3A1QLkipSxWEChTncCX3jvtMRvcYq1rkYyx9mzv36Uegna899gd6PWdp.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about Nature, Animals, Ecology, Crypto, Traveling, Sport, Photography and discovering secrets and beauties of the World, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on hiving, guys! :)

Sort:  

Tremendous!!
A jak to teda vlastne postavili?! :D

...a co teprv ten Kolumbus! :D ;)

Absolutely magnificent views everywhere you look. The stained glass is especially stunning!

Thank you very much Nina for your kind comment and for that generous TipU support! Much appreciated. I´m glad you enjoyed this little tour :)

It is a real huge Cathedral. I wonder what the colourful shapes on the window are. I think I have seen them in a church as well.

Someone told me that Prague's arthitecture is like Italy. Therefore, I should visit it :)

Thank you for sharing the inside of the church with us.

It´s called stained glass ;) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stained_glass You can find this kind of decoration in many old churches in Europe. I know you said it´s not easy to get the visa for you but I hope you will still make it here one day :) Greetings to Turkey!

These photos are really gorgeous! You did a really pro job here!

Thanks but definitely not a pro, just a keen amateur :) I wish the quality of the shots was better but it was really difficult to photograph in such conditions (confined spaces and low light conditions). Glad you still like the result though ;)

Photos of cathedral is excellent. The colors and exposure is so vivid !

Thank you! :)

Great photos! I’m convinced I need to get your phone myself. It probably wasn’t just your phone but your good photography skills. I’d still like to know monster took these pictures though:D

Haha thanks buddy, very kind of you but I will have to disappoint you, the photos were taken by my 4 years old Xiaomi phone that is probably not even available on the market any more :D I´m actually just about to buy a new one, mostly because of the camera. The new models have so much better cameras than this...

Those are some great photos for a phone that’s no longer on the market. Bummer. I’ll be waiting to see the pictures from your new devices when you buy it. Whatever you pick, I know the pictures will be even better.

Thanks, I hope so too :)

This is really lovely and nice @phortun and thanks for sharing.

"Lovely and nice", that´s kind of you :) Thank you.

Vela ludi sa ma pyta, ci som bola vo vnutri katedrali a ja uprimne neviem, ci som tam bola alebo nie :D Vobec si neviem spomenut ako to vnutri vyzera, tak si nie som ista, ci som tam vlastne bola. Jedine, co viem urcite je, ze tam bolo stale strasne vela turistov a hrozne dlhe rady. Ked tak pozeram tvoje fotky, tak sa mi nieco vybavuje, ale zaroven mi to nejako splyva so Sagrada Familia v Barcelone a stale si nie som ista :D Ked budem nabuduce v Prahe, tak tam zajdem, aby som uz nemala pochybnosti :)

Naprosto ti rozumím, taky mi některá místa / stavby splývají ;) Zrovna ty barevné vitráže jsou právě i v Sagradě, vlastně i ty klenby a vysoké stropy :) Jo, radši si sem zajeď, ať v tom máš jasno :D

Díky za koment i podporu, bylo to milé překvapení :)

A beautiful and large Prague church, it's hard to capture everything from one angle, but you did a great job. It's an excellent set of shots :)

Thank you Trang! Really glad to know that you enjoyed this little photo collection :) Cheers to Australia!

Beautiful pictures! Think I might need to visit again, haven't been there in ages!

Thank you! :) You know, as touristy as it gets but still a must see when in the city ;)

Tak tenhle článek mi totálně unikl :-/. Matně si vzpomínám na rok 1987, kdy jsem tam byl naposledy :-)
!LUV
za použití #aroundtheworld

1987? Tak to by už asi pomalu stálo zase za další návštěvu :D

Dík.

What amazing stained glasses 🤩

Yeah, I cannot even imagine all the countless hours of painstaking work behind it :D

Yes!🥴 You know, no pain, no gain 🤷🏻‍♀️ hehehe