Architectural Photography: exteriors of the magnificent St. Vitus Cathedral

in Photography Lovers2 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Hivean friends and followers!

As promised last week, I´m coming with another Prague photography post today that will also be the first part of the announced miniseries dedicated to the imposing St. Vitus Cathedral. In this post, we will take a closer look at the exteriors of this fascinating piece of medieval architecture. But before we get to the pictures themselves, let me briefly introduce you to this magnificent church.

Officially called the Metropolitan Cathedral of St. Vitus, Wenceslaus and Adalbert, the church is one of the Europe´s finest examples of the Gothic architecture and also probably the most important church in the Czech Republic. The very origins of this gigantic building dates back to as early as 930, which means it´s almost 1100 years old now!

The cathedral is a part of the Prague Castle Complex and it´s really huge with the main tower being 103 m (338 ft) tall. The enormous size of the cathedral is actually also the main reason why it´s so challenging to take photos of it, especially when combined with the confined space of the surrounding courtyards of the castle. That´s why each of the photos that you are about to see below will feature just a certain part of the building. Although the weather was mostly sunny that day, it got weirdly cloudy when we reached the cathedral so all the pictures that I took there have this eerie cloudy background but I think it actually fits the Gothic vibes of the cathedral very nicely ;)

Without further ado, let me now show you what the St. Vitus Cathedral looks like from the outside.


IMG_20220716_151834.jpg


IMG_20220716_151519.jpg


IMG_20220716_150302.jpg


IMG_20220716_151801.jpg


paty.jpg


sesty.jpg


IMG_20220716_151607.jpg


I hope you enjoyed the pictures. You know my photos are usually quite strictly symmetric with straight lines and horizon etc. but as I mentioned before, the immense size of the church made me to go for these untypical angles and perspectives. If you zoom in a bit, you can even enjoy some cool details like the menacing gargoyles on the roof :)

I also put the photos in b&w to see what they look in monochrome as I usually feel it goes well with spooky or dramatic shots so let me show you the result too...


sedmy.jpg


IMG_20220716_151519 cb.jpg


IMG_20220716_150302 cb.jpg


IMG_20220716_151801 cb.jpg


IMG_20220716_151642 cb.jpg


IMG_20220716_151712 cb.jpg


IMG_20220716_151607 cb.jpg


Thanks for your attention everyone and please let me know which version (colored vs. monochrome) you like more ;) Oh and if you want to know what the cathedral looks like from the inside, make sure to stop by my blog next week!




This post was created by me for the Hive blockchain exclusively. All rights reserved.



7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmivwA3A1QLkipSxWEChTncCX3jvtMRvcYq1rkYyx9mzv36Uegna899gd6PWdp.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about Nature, Animals, Ecology, Crypto, Traveling, Sport, Photography and discovering secrets and beauties of the World, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on hiving, guys! :)

Sort:  

Been there! It's massive indeed. We seriously need a time machine to back to those times to see how the hell they managed to build those things.

Yeah, the architectural mastery of the medieval times is surely something to admire but I´m not sure I would really like to "teleport" myself to that part of the European history. It´s called the Dark Ages for a reason :D :/

Maybe compared to today life was mundane \o\o\ given the amount of nonsense happened during our time. Imagine if people from the Dark Age could see our world.

These buildings are really spectacular. It's so gothic looking and striking !

Exactly :) As Gothic looking as it gets hehe :)

Dude, he looks so big and imposing. Your photos totally capture it. I would definitely like to visit one day. I like the colored ones better because the color of the cathedral and the color of the clouds make the photo more beautiful.

Thanks for your feedback man! I actually like the colored version better too, I love the dark patina shades, looks very cool and authentic :)

Absolutely. You explained it much better than me. The color of the cathedral and the sky already give the photo a black and white feel.

@phortun wow this is beautiful structures of the church. nice monochrome 😍😍

Thank you for your kind words, I´m glad you enjoyed the collection :)

@tipu curate 5

Wow what an impressive cathedral love all the shots and zooming in to see the details

Me too! I enjoyed the zooming, the details look so cool :) Thank you for stopping by!

My pleasure to visit your post

Such a masterpiece @phortun 😎 I love the angles you took.
Thanks for sharing with us 😁 have a great Tuesday!

Thank you! In fact, I had to take these angles since otherwise, I would only capture the bottom of the cathedral :D With such gigantic structures, this struggle is real :) Have an amazing day too!

I sooo understand. It all depends how much space you have to go back at.
This struggle is real, but your captures are great!
Thanks so much @phortun 👋🏻☀️

Indeed, it is a huge cathedral. I think I have seen a similar one in Budapest.

Hope you will show the inside of it next time. Thanks!

I will and I think you will not be disappointed ;) Thanks for checking out the first part of this photography mini series!

I think the second photo is where you shared with us.

Amazing brother...it's give me nostalgia...cuz..as you heard or play the game Assassin's creed unity....the same structures...i saw in this game..btw beautiful photography

Thanks! Well, I just checked it out and it seems that the cathedral featured in the game is actually the Notre Dame Cathedral but they seem to be built in the same architectural style ;)

Yes...it's similar in such ways

Mind blowing!

it´s almost 1100 years old now!

Just wow, can't express in words how Good architecture were built 1000 years back and still at same position!

Church exterior looks so beautiful curious to know about it's interior - hope you'll show from inside

Though in picture i can clearly see details and both in b/w or in colour looks perfect and professional.

Looking forward to see more of your Pictures and learn something from it.

Yeah, exactly, the architectural heritage of our ancestors is so impressive. Sometimes I wonder what will be left after our generations. Maybe some ugly shopping centers :D :/

Indeed very well said, haha can't disagree with shopping malls part 😂

The dark clouds gave the church an ominous air, like a scene in a movie where vampires or winged monsters could step out at any moment 😅.

Great shots. I hope humans are able to keep these relics for more millenniums.

Thanks man, I got the same impression from the scene hehe :) I wish you could see the scary gargoyles :D

You'll post them any day now, wouldn't you?

Unfortunately, they were too high on the building for my old phone camera to capture but there are many cool photos of them on the internet that you can easily google out. Medieval gargoyles are usually quite spooky :D

Oh yeah, I've seen them a lot in movies and stuff.

This buildings really look nice with lovely captures taken, thanks for sharing @phortun

Thank you!

This city is so beautiful, I loved it on my first (and so far only) visit. Especially the historical center with the paved streets and no cars :)
Great captures, I like those moody monoshots a lot!

Thanks man! Means a lot coming from a photographer like you :) I´m sure you took tons of great shots during your visit to Prague and I hope you will make it here again to explore more cool places of the city ;)

:)
Oh, yes. I have the feeling there would always be something beautiful to explore there. I would love to travel to the countryside too, I am sure plenty could be seen. Visit some breweries as well :) The biggest choice of draft beers I've ever seen anywhere :)))

That´s right! There are actually more than 400 breweries in our country, which probably is the highest number per capita in the world :) But what can one expect in a country with the highest beer consumption in the world, right? :D
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_beer_consumption_per_capita

I'd say, I am not surprised you have the highest beer consumption as all the brands and types I tried, I liked a lot. I can't say the same compliment for all the beers I tried when I was living in London, though :D LMAO

That is some incredibly beautiful architecture and you did an excellent job capturing that beauty!

Thank you! Was a pleasure to post something into your community again after a while :)

Looking forward to seeing more if that is a sample of things to come! Cheers

I have seen this Cathedral on the outside but not (yet) on the inside so I will definitely be on the lookout for next week's post!

Alright, deal! :) Thanks for stopping by btw ;)

Jsou stavby, které nemají šanci "vlézt se" do jednoho záběru :-).
Kdybych měl vybrat jedinou "charakteristickou" stavbu českého království, tak to bude bezesporu tato katedrála :-)
!LUV
za použití #aroundtheworld

Ona by se do záběru vešla, kdyby nebyla uprostřed hradního komplexu :) Díky za zařazení do soutěže i Luváka.

V tom je právě ten "vtip". Možná, to tak bylo kdysi zamýšleno.

Congratulations @phortun! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 1600 posts.
Your next target is to reach 1700 posts.
You got more than 35000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 35500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Wow! This is such an amazing piece of architecture! The size of it made it difficult to photograph, but, you did a splendid job!

I like the color for this one. I will be on the lookout for the interior! It is such a treat!

Why didn't you submit it to @pinmapple?

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thank you very much :) Right, the architect did an amazing job there for sure. His name is Peter Parler ;)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Parler