My First Harvest On The Homestead

in Hive Gardening2 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


The first harvest is here on the Gubba Homestead and I couldn’t be more excited. The first crop to come in are garlic cloves I planted late last year and I wasn’t sure if they would grow. Seeing how big these grow was such a delight and a surprise. I really wasn’t expecting them to grow for some reason.

In this video I also dropped a few tips on how to grow and plant garlic for yourself.. A single clove turns into a bulb! I also made a mistake so you could learn from it lol

What I’ll be doing is keeping the larger and stronger bulbs to be replanted this year and start building a strong seed garden that continues to get better from generation to generation.

Garlic is one of my favorites and goes into nearly every dish I make. Not only does it pack flavor but it packs tons of great nutrients for you including a great antibacterial.

I’m excited to complete the harvest I have this year and start planning for next. My plans are to have a huge garden that provides food for months further pushing me towards being self-sufficient.

What crops should I plan on growing in my garden next year?


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1564123262962921473 twitter metadata:U01hZHVzaG5ha2F8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vU01hZHVzaG5ha2Evc3RhdHVzLzE1NjQxMjMyNjI5NjI5MjE0NzN8 ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jimmy.adames, @madushanka ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I love garlic too, but never being able to successfully plant it, congrats on your harvest.

Give it another try I bet you can grow it. I wasn't expecting these to grow lol

Super! Congratulations! 👍

I just harvested yesterday my first tomatoes. I have seven plants and they are full of tomatoes.

Thanks for sharing this update with us, @gubbatv!

That's awesome congrats on your first tomatoes harvest. I'm for sure adding them to my garden plan for next year.

Thank you, @gubbatv!

Interestingly, I hadn't planned to add them to my garden this year, but they had another idea. 😄 The seeds that were in the compost germinated and grew spontaneously. It was a surprise and I decided to leave them. In previous years, when I consciously sowed the seeds, I didn't have good luck with them, but this year, when I didn't plan them, the plants are healthy and loaded with fruit. Funny! I have published several posts about it on my 3Speak Channel - you can check them up if you want and have the time.

Best regards!

!PAL
!HBIT
!CCC

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | subscribe | <>< daily

Starting Sept 10, you will need to reply to your OWN post or comment to mine HBIT. You MIGHT also find a bonus token! Details here.

lol, I'm going to be starting composting myself here soon for the garden beds. I'm going to need to be watchful of seeds like that. Tomato's though are a pleasant surprise 😄

Yes, I got other flowers and plants as well, but it wasn't a big deal. And, as you said, they were a pleasant surprise!

Do you have a composting plan already?

I know there is a lot of information out there but soon I'm going to share my method. I have an interesting rotation process that provides me with fresh compost twice a year!

Nice! Garlic is awesome! My favorite thing with it is amazing pesto (garlic, basil, olive oil and hard cheese)! @tipu curate

Yum! That sounds amazing right now lol thank you for the tip :)

Wow ,thats great to know that tips😍
I love planting also and yesterday I planted some spinach,hope to plant a garlic soon😄