Momentary release

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

I stood at the rail, hands clutching tightly, knuckles white with the pressure. I could feel it's weather-worn surface beneath my hands, flakes of old paint, even lettering carved long ago into the surface from those who stood here before me. Did they feel how I do? Devoid. Were those hastily carved letters their last indelible mark left on a world they had to leave? I'll never know.

The sea roiled beneath me and far out to the horizon, heaving up and down, endlessly moving, but never getting anywhere. It was dirty, sand stirred by recent storms; A reflection of how I felt. Dirty. Unclean.

The wind whipped at me and had I had a shed of feeling left within me I would have recoiled from its cold prodding fingers just as I recoiled from myself.

They had tried to help me, for weeks now; I felt no better though. I was torn inside, lacerated and bruised. I was sometimes hopeful as we spoke, but when I was alone I just wanted not to feel and that's what brought me here.

I climbed, swinging my legs over the rail one by one as I gripped the rail for support.

Gripped... Just thinking of that word was abhorrent. It made me recall those gripping hands, the fumbling, the pressure upon me, pinning me, holding me; Forcing me. Lank hair fell into my face as I struggled and kicked...Then the blinding white light when I was struck. And then...

I forced my mind away from the horror and back to the churning sea below, its surface littered with debris churned from below, rising and falling, rising and falling...And my mind went back to that moment again...Rising and falling...Seemingly endless.

I pulled myself back from that horror once again. It hand to end; But I couldn't see how it could; I would never be free because it was a part of me now, as indelible mark upon my souls a something could make. How does one rend their memory from inside the recess of the mind?

The wind pushed and I rocked slightly backwards then as I leaned into it for balance my head looked right down below me, eyes focused on the grey-green surface churning far below. I saw chaos there, reflected from within me, or real; It was all the same. It was at that moment I knew what I had to do. It was a simple thing, a brief moment in time, a release...

[A fictional story]

Sort:  

Congratulations @allover! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Very nice story friend, keep it up.

We want more of it, love it😍

Thank you for your comment. I'm pleased you liked my story; What part did you like the best and why? I'm interested to know so I can learn to write better posts.

I forced my mind away from the horror and back to the churning sea below, its surface littered with debris churned from below, rising and falling, rising and falling...And my mind went back to that moment again...Rising and falling...Seemingly endless.

When times when you went back to your memories, i love to went back also to the memories who are very memorable.

Ah I see.

Well, it is only fictional, so not a true story.

It is about someone who was brutally raped and cannot live with the shame of it and is intending the commit suicide by jumping into the ocean.

Thanks for your comment.

That's why i want more because you did very well on your fiction.🤗🤗

Ah ok, I wasn't sure if you realised it was not a true story. All good.