Progressive regression

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

The world moves too fast for my liking; I keep up of course, it's just that I feel in doing so I am not living the life I would like; It's almost like I am being swept along by the wind of change, against my will, and with no real choice but to go with it.

The world has changed so quickly and in only a couple hundred years we've gone from a fairly simple life where most things are within our control, to a complex one where the most simple of things are taken out of our hands. I understand, it's progress, however there are times, many times, where I feel that what we call progress is not necessarily the best for us.

The ability to grow and raise our own food is largely unnecessary; Yes, there are some who continue to do so, the few, not the many. We are losing the ability to cook for ourselves; Yes, we know how to dial pizza, press buttons on a microwave, but cook? Not so much. We cannot often mend our own clothing, fix our household items when they break, or make new ones. We can't fix our cars, cultivate crops...Even having our own opinion is taken out of our hands through media propaganda, social media streams, corporations and governments.

I find all of this troubling.

I live in a first-world country and am fully-aware that there are people still doing the things I mention above through lack of options; I'm not talking about them. I'm talking about the billions of people who cannot, or will not do so. I believe we have lost some very valuable core skills in our pursuit of progress and i don't see them coming back anytime soon.

I wish it would slow down, the world. I wish a thatch-roofed cottage, cottage garden and a few animals was a reality for me but it is not. Yes, I could sell up and make it happen, but realistically, for reasons I'll not divulge here, it is not achievable. It's not viable in a world that values the next iPhone over baking bread, the latest computer game over working with ones hands or Facebook over real communication. We are so clever. But are we?

I wonder if the world will ever outsmart itself. We have the answer to everything at our fingertips; Right or wrong Google has a response, but we are largely unable to perform the most basic of things. good or bad? I don't know. Will it come full-circle? Will we be able to arrest the decline into incompetence in the very things that lifted us up in the first place.

"Progress is the mother of problems."
- G.K. Chesterton

Sort:  

Congratulations @allover! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1000 replies. Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.
You made more than 600 comments. Your next target is to reach 700 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!


Congratulations @allover!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Oh now my friend! These words really speak to me!!!

That is how I started to formulate my response to you regarding a post that really caused me to think deeply... But then my comment morphed into THIS

I sincerely hope you don't mind. It never actually occurred to me that you might... Hmmm You'd think I would think further than 6 seconds in to the future, wouldn't you???

Take great care my friend, I hope you are having a magnificent week 😎

Here's a spooky synchronicity for you... @hivebuzz delivered the same message to us both yesterday... We both hit minnow the same day... I didn't realise till I was looking at the comment below... Do you also hear the TwilightZone music???

Congratulations on that particular achievement my friend, I have a strong inclination that we are gonna hit the next target ((mine is 1k HP)) in a fraction of the time 😎

Jeez! The whole point of THIS was so this comment didn't grow to exponential proportions ...

WOW! I really cannot help myself! 😁

Lol...Minnow-twins!

I don't mind people referring to my posts at all, I think it is nice, and certainly a nice way for people to cross-connect. I'm going to head over and take a look at that post right now. In the background the Twilight Zone music plays...

The world is moving at a much to rapid pace for me so I choose to create my sanctuary in the forest. And never regretted it for a moment!

My forest home is my retreat from all the craziness of the world where I garden, gather from the wilds, into "slow foods" and have no cell phone access.

I feel very grateful to have this in place, especially with the rapid changes that are happening in the world at these times! I can live peacefully, communing with nature!

It is becoming much more difficult to detach from society I think. Sure, sounds easy, but logistically and financially the reality is that it is difficult. Certainly here where I am anyway, despite the country being vast and sparsely populated. You seemed to have found your place, and peace, and that's something right?

People seem to have lost their connection with nature mostly, generally speaking of course. It's a shame as I feel, in doing so, they have lost touch of themselves also.

Thanks again for your comment and reading my post.