Unfolding future

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

I used to wonder how my life would turn out; Not stress over it, just wonder where I would go, what I would do and who I would become as a person.

I can recall actively thinking about it in my mid-teens and, as I got older, about what actions and activities I could, or would, undertake to affect my future positively. Of course, at that early stage I was not capable of making long-reaching decisions and even moving forward into my early 20's I was a more reactive person than proactive. How my future would unfold seemed as much dependant on chance than any real input of my own. Of course, there was input.

Everything we do as humans has an affect on some aspect of our lives; Our own or others. Cause and effect I suppose. Be it positive or negative how we think and act will unfold at a later stage; Sometimes much later and sometimes immediately.

I was fortunate to learn that early in life, although in hindsight not early enough, and to ensure that I cultivated the attitudes and took the actions that would carry me forward with what, at the the time, I hoped were the right tools in the toolbox; Skills and attributes that would help me craft a positive and fulfilled life.

I'm now old enough to look back on a good portion of my life and see the fruits of my labour, to consider the harvest I have reaped from that which I sowed along the way so to speak. It's not a bad looking harvest I have to admit.

Regret is most often an unwelcome guest in a person's life and I am pleased to say I hold very little I regret; Certainly very little in areas I could have personally changed. I think it's a good position to be in and looking back on my teen and early-adult self I'd have to say that I am proud of how I thought back then, the precursor to who I am now.

Now, here I am, still an unfolding future ahead of me and, still, I have the ability to affect it through the right attitude and actions.

“The future depends on what you do today.”
- Mahatma Gandhi

Sort:  

It is something that we all think and that some moment of our lives we see and analyze, I see with sadness and happiness every moment of my life and I hope to do something different that will fill this heart with joy so as not to forget how beautiful life is.

A life that has given my son and unique moments, of course I continue learning and knowing what the future has for me, I hope it does not attack me and let me move patiently, that is what life is about moments that fill your trunk of beautiful memories.

Life is different for all of us and we all have different needs and expectations from ourselves and lives. Some feel that they need to seek the best version of their lives and others are happy to take a more passive role. Either way, a person should follow their path, no matter what it is, with passion and great desire. To do otherwise is to be a passenger.

Sometimes we see life from the passenger seat and we do not understand the damage we do to ourselves, it is simple to live every moment.

I agree. I'm not the passenger type. :)

!ENGAGE 50

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you very much friend.

When I make my decisions I usually think about the future. Until now I feel that I have made only 1 big mistake in my life (which I remember at some times) and at that moment I acted impulsively, only thinking about the present. It's not about going through life analyzing and overthinking everything you do, but I think you have to be careful. Sometimes I think that people my age make decisions without thinking about the long term, just for immediate satisfaction, and so then comes regret.
My generation romanticizes "living in the present" in a dangerous way

I agree with your last line wholeheartedly! I know people you age who feel completely vindicated to live whilst they can, meaning live in the moment with no concern for the future however there is a future, and one in which things don't come for free. They say, yes, but we may not make it there and they are correct, although the vast majority will, and they will find a very miserable existence if they have not planned ahead.

Living in the moment, being present in each moment, is important and so is looking ahead and making some plans to ensure it is as fulfilled as possible.

You are a very intelligent, and switched on young lady I think; To see your impulsiveness, own it, and then move forward is smart, and mature. Unfortunately for many your age they get caught up in the hype and that has far-reaching implications.

!ENGAGE 50

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.