Roots As Art Contest

in GEMS4 years ago

Roots as Art Contest hosted
@kus-knee

While out hiking in the woods last year I discovered these really interesting exposed tree roots.

20200331_155450.jpg

I enjoy taking long hikes in the woods. One time I got lost. Keeping calm and not panicking is most important.

20200401_090517.jpg
😳😮
When we are frightened and afraid are imagination can turn the forest into a very scary place.
🌲
I found my way out of the deep woods before dark. I heard a distant dog barking and continued in that direction.
Eventually a dirt road came into view. I never did see the dog.
😊👀

( photo #2 edited using Deep Dream Generator)

https://peakd.com/contest/@kus-knee/the-old-dog-presents-the-roots-as-art-rooart-contest

Sort:  

Howdy annephilbrick! That dog might have saved you a long night in the woods! Great photos, trees are so interesting.

😊
Thank You..!
@janton
I was happy to hear a barking dog. It was really really distant. If it had been windy out I wouldn't have heard it.
I'm glad I didn't have to spend the night in the woods. I would have survived it but would have been wishing I had my sleeping bag...!!!

That's a remarkable story. Did you say that you ran out of firewood this winter? How is that possible? lol.

Yup. I ran out..! 😒
Thank goodness I got thru the coldest part of the Winter 🙂. It was unseasonably frigid cold last November. I burnt quite a bit that month.

So now you have to have an even bigger supply for next winter! Did you ever think about getting some other type of heat to supplement the wood stove? That's probably a dumb question, I'm sure you have.

Wood is the only option I have.
Fuel trucks can't deliver to my cabin. I'm too far in the woods. The road is not that great and there is a wood bridge they wouldn't be able to safely cross.

That makes sense. And I guess solar technology isn't advanced to the point where it would furnish the power to heat a whole cabin.

So cool! Can you submit the Deep Dream Generator one in the comment section of the contest? Otherwise I might miss it.

Love it!

🙂
Thank You...!!!
@kus-knee
I submitted the DeepDream Generator photo...
;-)