Blank page syndrome

in GEMS3 years ago
Authored by @ixindamix

The blank page syndrome or lack of inspiration can quickly become a source of frustration, sometimes leading to self-deprecation. Yet all great artists have experienced this lapse many times during their careers. This temporary lack of imagination and creativity should not be considered as a fatality that can put an end to the development of great projects. On the contrary, this situation allows one to take stock of one's personal situation and to take advantage of it in order to bounce back better. Although I don't really consider myself as an artist, I sometimes have to face frequent slumps in the content of my articles. In order to overcome this slight problem, from time to time I put into practice a rather personal method that provides me with the necessary resources to start again on the right path.

Making content in a disinterested way is absolutely not constructive and does not allow to propose something qualitatively attractive for its public. One of my leitmotivs is to take pleasure in writing each of my texts, to develop a subject or to pass on my knowledge to the readership. This notion of pleasure, which can be applied to any art form, is particularly important. A text, a song, a sketch or even a video, when it is produced with the greatest satisfaction by its author, is particularly felt by those interested. One could describe this as an intimate connection between the two parties. In order to perpetuate this relationship, it is not advisable to produce without desire. So if you don't have any original ideas in mind, don't force yourself !

This moment of uncertainty should not discourage you in any way. If no words, geometric shapes or sounds come to mind, simply move on. This time, which will not be devoted to designing, will give you the opportunity to have a few moments of introspection, conducive to the outpouring of thoughts and ideas of all kinds. Take a moment for yourself. It may be hours, days or weeks, but it is vital to give yourself some attention. During this time, feel free to take stock, listen, read, play, and at the same time cut yourself off from the world around you.

This space that I create for myself gives me the opportunity to perfect my thirst for curiosity and thus to extend my field of discovery. This inner renewal develops, in my opinion, the taste of sharing and thus by extension that of creativity. It is a fact that inspiration comes from the transmission of artists who are in turn inspired by existing works. In short, a perpetual cycle that sometimes leads to particularly innovative things.

Of course, everything I have just listed is quite personal and will probably not suit most people. Nevertheless, it allows me during difficult moments to find a semblance of desire for writing articles. And you, how do you live with the blank page syndrome? What are your solutions?

Sort:  

Congratulations @authentika! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Your post is really interesting. I do think that if you don t have desire, you don t have to write. Regards forma uruguay