Original Glass Art: Flameworked Glass Bead

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

This is my favourite time of year for torching - the weather is perfect for opening the windows and letting in some fresh air and the trees are starting to bud and flower.

I’m a little obsessed with flowering trees, especially apple, crab apple, and pear, so this is the best time of year for taking photos or drawing sketches that fuel my work through the fall and winter.

This new flameworked glass bead was inspired by the crab apple trees at the Experimental Farm - my daughter and I love to stand under the canopy of flowers and watch the petals fall.

8730368B-72B8-4F01-B317-2D518ED67B7D.jpeg

I use soda lime glass rods to make the bead and the floral cane. I make the flowers by cutting the cane into little slices (murrine) and then set it into the hot base bead. The glass that I use is a combination of transparent, opaque and opal glass and is from Italy, Germany and the US. This watery, slightly opal aqua bead is made from a blend of glasses including one called “Peacock Green.”

23E1022E-2AAB-40DF-9E3D-0F1561DC4935.jpeg

The bead is made by winding molten glass around a steel mandrel and then shaping it with a few basic tools, including my torch which is a Bethlehem Burner Bravo. My work bench isn’t usually this tidy - next time I’ll take a photo in the middle of a work session and you’ll see how chaotic it can get.

FB0D2F76-A267-4D04-928C-D7C6C5017E3C.jpeg

Here’s a short video showing part of the process of making a flameworked bead with flowers. My son made the video for me.

Sort:  

Gorgeous work, @borgheseglass! I can almost smell the apple blossoms when I look at it - thanks so much for sharing!

Oh and speaking of sharing, I found this thanks to your hubby on Twitter. 😊

Thanks @traciyork! It’s so great to get positive feedback! Yeah, he’s pretty amazing.

You're very welcome, @borgheseglass! And it's awesome to have a supportive husband - I'm lucky enough to have one too. 😊

Wow... that’s awesome. I guess The #posh and #hive hashtag on Twitter really works. Thanks so much ! @traciyork

Most definitely, @offgridlife! Those are awesome tags to use - also, you're welcome to tag me on Twitter like you did, or #HiveBlogShare (I run the https://twitter.com/HiveBlogShare account). No promises, but always happy to take a peek... 😊

Excellent. That is good to know. I love how everyone is using Twitter to spread the good news about Hive.blog. #hive

Beautiful work. Will be awesome to buy these with Hive, or HBD.... maybe when it’s pegged to $1.00 ?
Let me know .... I will Retweet your post to help you get some traffic #hive

Wow! So beautiful! I work in chaos too! I don't trust people who have permanently tidy work areas! :)

I know right?? Chaos = happy accidents. Sometimes I grab the wrong rod of glass out of the chaos and magic happens....then I have to figure out what I used 🤔 Thanks for the comment, much appreciated @felt.buzz!

This is so beautiful. What a talented artist you are! @barbara-orenya Do you know of any great communities for artists?

Thank you @melinda010100!

You will make friends and find your way around here in no time! And you are lucky to have your very own guide! 😊

It’s really nice to find a positive and supportive community! Thank you for reaching out to @barbara-orenya, she sent along some community suggestions for me.

I knew that Barbara would know! And I am so glad that you feel comfortable sharing your work with us! ❤️

Pretty great. Really nice work. Very beautiful

Thank you very much @fredkese!

My pleasure

What a wonderful talent you have. My sister, G-D rest her soul, used to collect little glass pieces of clowns.

Please do continue to post and share you talent and pictures of your creations. I would suggest you join the PowerHouseCreatives Community (https://peakd.com/c/hive-114105/) so that you get more views on your work. Please do not be discouraged. I must admit, your husband asked me to come and view your work.

You are much appreciated and I really like your creative work. It is very unique!

Thanks @sgt-Dan.... much appreciated. It’s great to see how Twitter can be used to bring more people to Hive. I guess it helps to tag a few good hivers too eh ! I need to post a few in PowerHouse Creatives . .... but I’m trying to post less often these days.

Thank you @sgt-dan, I’ll check them out! And thank you for the kind comments too.

Oh my ..this is beautiful ! ^_^
To answer to @melinda010100 and give you some communities to post your work in, I would say maybe On ChainArt and Build it Community

...and Welcome to Hive @borgheseglass ! bunny%20barbie.png

Thank you for these community suggestions @barbara-orenya, I’ll check them out!

This is amazing. I've watched the video and realized you've got great talent. If you persevere, you will definitely excel.
Well done.

Thank you @maxwellmarcusart. I love what I do and I appreciate your encouragement!

Beautiful work!
I have seen a person doing beads like this once on some show. It is absolutely amazing and hypnotizing how all those little flowers and shapes appear. I am really amazed!

Thank you @ewkaw! The first time I tried it, I was completely mesmerized by the way the glass melted and glowed...hard to explain, but it triggered something and I just love it.

This is an amazing level of creativity. Nice to meet such a talented individual on the chain too. The Sky isn't your limit anymore. Hive On My Friend!!!

Thanks @firefly2020 for such a supportive comment, I’m happy to be in the hive!

🤗
Absolutely beautiful and exquisite..!!!!
@borgheseglass
I truly hope to see more of your work.

Thank you very much @annephilbrick!

Congratulations @borgheseglass! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.
You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!

This is such a beautiful post. Truly. It makes me want to feel the smooth, cool glass.

First saw your post on twitter and was thrilled to retweet it. Following you from Chiang Mai in Northern Thailand.

Wow, this is beautiful 😍 what a lovely thing to be able to do. I really enjoyed this post, great video too.