Get your fiddleheads while you can

in GEMS3 years ago (edited)

Fiddleheads are in season for that short amount of time. Steam them up and add a little butter and salt. I look forward to them every year, thank goodness they're seasonal or I'd be sick of them in no time.

The fiddlehead is what it sounds like. This vegetable is shaped like the head of a fiddle or violin for those cultured readers out there.

According to Wikipedia they should be steamed for 10-12 minutes (I do about 7-8 minutes) or boiled for 15 minutes. As with all vegetables I prefer steaming vs boiling. I was always taught at a young age to retain those valuable nutrients with steaming. I've never looked this fact up but this does sound right
in theory.

I can't tell if this image is appealing or not appealing. They're mighty tasty.

fiddleheads.jpg

Sort:  

I got mine! I was so happy to get some this year, I don't always get to have some and the season is so short. Delish. I grew up on this stuff, picking and eating.

Ohhh wait, you mean they dont sell them at Kroger??? Lol no wonder I never heard about them before LOL.

Sometimes you can find them at supermarkets for one week of year if you are lucky but for the most part, you go picking them near swamps after the snow melts in the woods near streams. It's a wild delicacy lol

Me too!!! My dad was a forager. Dandelion salads too!

Yes they are awesome , I love dandelion leaves with apple cider honey dijon vinegrette and dried figs! I grew up on nature, love it.

Me too!!! My dad loved that Mother Nature provided so much that was overlooked. I love the apple cider honey dijon vinaigrette!

Do you ever eat flowers? The nectar in them is sooo good. Clover flowers are one of them, fireweed is delish too, the whole plant is edible actually, not just the flower. All that is also plant medicine. Especially the dandelion, it's one of the most potent ones and everyone tries to get rid of them, it's a gift from god if anything and they are so abundant. Right now it's morel mushroom season. I don't know if you get those where you live.

We get them here late March until maybe mid May. The season just ended. It was a banner season for us. They seem to hang out under the pines and elms are one of their faves. We had great conditions for them.

I never had the jelly I'm not a jelly person to begin with, just had them cooked like an asparagus for the stalk and of course the flowers raw.

We get a late growing season, I live in the most northern metropolis in the world plus we had a late winter with snowfalls until late may. I think it's on the tail end of the season but there are still some. I don't actively look for them all the time but I come across them hiking and if I'm not on a national Park I pick them. Last year we found a large ziploc freezer bag full in one hike. They also grow in logging areas, where it's been recently logged of the trees you mentioned the next 2 years is morel abundant, also where there has been forest fires.

I do eat flowers! It is one of the things I am known for. Clover is especially one of my favorites, as is the clover itself. I like the fireweed in a salad or stir-fried. My mom made the jelly. I hope to try that this year. Have you ever made it?

It's true about dandelions. I throw them in salads. They are truly abundant!

I keep hearing about this. My interest is now peaked.

This is great to hear. I devoured a serving about a week ago and they were hard to find. I managed to find another one but I think my time is running out.

Thanks for stopping by and sharing your experiences, I can see you're a fan too

Well if you don't find anymore at least you had a little bit of a taste! I know they are hard to find sometimes. Good luck!

It's yummy looking! I eat fiddleheads too! The only thing I would have to say to anyone reading this is that eating undercooked or raw fiddleheads can give you diarrhea, nausea, vomiting, abdominal cramps, and headaches. So, be sure to steam/boil properly.

As a note: They are indescribably delicious! Great photography here @buffalobison!! I added a few tags for you to help grab some attention, but, it may fail as the post is already 8 hours old.

#photography #nature #naturalfood #foraging #life #neoxian

Also, there is nothing on your profile page, so hit repost on your post and it will show up on the page. It says you haven't posted anything yet, so people may see that and leave. Repost your own for now. I think it will help.

Thanks for the post on these delicious pieces of nutrition. How can anyone deny the free food that Mother Nature provides! Enjoy!! Looking forward to seeing more posts in the future!

Uppped and Reposted

Yes as always expertly said just perfectly!

:) Well, I don't know about that...

You're full of tips today. Thank you.

Whatever you do, don't eat these raw. This should go without saying but I guess it needs to be said.

I added those tags as suggested and they seemed to have worked. I've also hit that repost button on my postings too.

Thanks for the advice about the tags. I'm curious to know what that neoxian tag is about. Seems out of context with the rest. As for tags, should I be adding as many as possible or is this a faux pas?

I'm a sponge so keep dumping that knowledge on me, that goes for anyone too :)

Glad to see you got a decent upvote on the movie post. :) Time. You are doing great.

Thanks for the encouragement and all the continued help, it's greatly appreciated.

Okay that's it. I'm running for fiddleheads tomorrow. I saw them the other day, as I do each year and I never by them. I have a fear of them even though I love all kinds of vegetables. You just sold me some fiddleheads for the first time in my life. Thank you!

Ysy!!! You won't regret it!!! Pictures!!!

I'm so glad to hear I convinced you, you should not be disappointed. I like to try different dishes as often as I can. These dandelion salads that were mentioned in here seem so foreign yet compelling at the same time.

Dandelion salads are great in every way. Thanks for reminding me to look for some.

I must confess I have never had one as I know of. They look like a cross of a green pepper and I dont know what lol. I will have to keep my eyes open for them!!!

They are a baby fern before it unrolls, it's delicious rolled in butter and salt and pepper. Taste similar to asparagus without the strong taste.

This lady knows, pay attention to her words haha

Don't forget to pay the lady! She is so right! ;))

Yes like @dswigle said use tags life neoxian nature photography. Remember if posting using Peakd you do not include the hasttags infront.

I'm taking it all in. Thanks.

The non-hashtag format must be an ease of use feature on peakd. Sorta confuses things a bit but I understand where it's coming from

I have never heard of eating fiddleheads ! I know what fiddlehead ferns are and the general shape of things when fiddlehead is in the name, but eating them? .... never heard of it or saw it around here.

Interesting.

Hi, nice to see you again.

Yes, the fiddlehead ferns I think are another name for them. They too are called fiddlehead greens but I think that is a regional thing. Their circular formation are the dead giveaway.

I assume you can eat almost anything if enough care and attention are taken :)

Congratulations @buffalobison! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.
You got more than 50 replies.
Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!