You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My real life story about homelessness and how I coped with adversity in my life

in GEMS3 years ago

Wow what an amazing story and a commend you for your bravery you have no idea how many of these odds alone would trip up so many of us and you had to face them all compounded. I really appreciate you sharing this story and being so open, we need more honesty in the world. I am a business owner who started out of my bedroom at 27 years old I know some of what its like to have to give up everything for your business and to make it work.

To have to sell many hours for free, but when business is a passion and a calling and not just a money maker you tend to be a little "delusional" for lack of a better word and you'll do anything to make it work thats how great long lasting anything is made, family, legacy, business, love anything

We often don't see the full picture or rather accept we don't know the full picture of other peoples lives and fill in the blanks with our own assumptions and I always think of this mistake and try not to get caught in my own bubble. We're all walking around with something we're embarrassed to share but you breaking the stigma is a powerful notion and I hope you realise that

I wish you nothing but the best for the future, I won't say the road gets easier, you just become tougher! On-ward and upward

Sort:  

Thanks so much for your appreciation! Only those who started a business know that it can take years until it takes off. It is like a child. It was tough as it all happened at once, starting from romantic failure to meeting the wrong people and a pandemic. The lockdown was a huge eye opener for me. I believe that we can't run from our demons forever and staying where I stayed has put a fast forward in my healing process. I now value the journey that I took and what I have become in the process more than what I have obtained. I now understand how it is never about the end goal as much as what you become as a human being in the process. Your last line reminds me of a saying of Jim Rohn: don't wish it was easier, wish you were better! Thanks again for reading this until the very end, I hope it inspires you in some way, God bless you!