A Flowering Cherry Tree For Tree Tuesday

in GEMS4 years ago

My photos today are of a flowering cherry tree that is right by my house.

treetuesday42820201ok.JPG

I believe it is a Yoshino Cherry tree. It can grow up to fifty feet and I usually can only see the top portion of the tree as it's tucked in between some evergreen trees.

treetuesday42820202ok.jpg

treetuesday42820203ok.JPG

I was able to zoom in and get some close-ups of the delicate blossoms.

treetuesday42820204ok.JPG

treetuesday42820205ok.JPG

The blooms last approximately two to four weeks. Towards the end of blooming, you can see the tiny petals drift down from the tree with the slightest of breezes. It is really a beautiful sight!

treetuesday42820206ok.JPG

The buds are dark pink and when they first blossom then they turn a lighter pink. They will eventually turn pale pink or white.

treetuesday42820207ok.JPG

treetuesday42820208ok.JPG

I collected a few blossoms that fell to the ground after a storm and put them into a collage to show the varying colors.

treetuesday42820209ok.png

It will also produce a very small black cherry which the birds love. I don't have any photos of the tiny fruit as the birds are quick to devour them.

treetuesday428202010ok.JPG

The birds can have the fruits though and I'll enjoy the beautiful blossoms...for a little while anyway!

treetuesday428202011ok.JPG

treetuesday428202012ok.JPG

Thank you @old-guy-photos for #treetuesday!!

TEAMUSAhive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

thealliancelogofromalliance.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, even on HIVE I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Sorry, no beers or deranged or trdo yet... waiting on steem-engine to make the move to HIVE...
Week 3 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!

Thanks @pixresteemer!! 😊 💕

Lovely blooms!

Thank you very much @old-guy-photos!! 🙂

What a lovely sight Dee! The tree in bloom is awesome. 💞

Thanks so much Jo!! I love seeing it when it's in bloom and watching it "snow" petals when it's almost done blooming. 💕

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Thanks so much @dsc-r2cornell and @jasonmunapasee!! Much appreciated!! 💖