Big Gunpowder Trail in Sepia

in GEMS3 years ago

The following are some photos that I snapped along the Big Gunpowder Trail which is at the Gunpowder Falls State Park Central Area in Baltimore County, Maryland.

sepiasaturday11720201ok2.jpg

sepiasaturday11720202ok2.jpg

I did happen upon several different mushrooms and I thought these were especially pretty. They looked young and dainty growing from a mossy log.

sepiasaturday11720203ok2.jpg

There are lots of rocks and boulders in the river. Some areas have more than others and this area definitely has more in spots. The river water was also low so there were even more visible.

sepiasaturday11720204ok2.jpg

sepiasaturday11720205ok2.jpg

I can't be certain but I do think that this Great Blue Heron may be used to people somewhat. It walked right by myself and my husband and I was surprised just how close it was to us. Granted, we were pretty still and quiet! Maybe it thought we didn't see it as, at times, it did disappear behind some of those big rocks and boulders.

sepiasaturday11720206ok3.jpg

The water views are beautiful but there are plenty of beautiful views on the trail as well. I think sepia just gives the photos a nostalgic kind of beauty but I do love how they look in color and black and white in addition to the sepia.

sepiasaturday11720207ok2.jpg

sepiasaturday11720208ok2.jpg

This is my last photo and I love how the sunlight was making the water and the leaves on the trees glisten. It was a bit windy also so the trees at times looked more than glisteny but downright sparkly! 💖

sepiasaturday11720209ok3.jpg

Just in case you are interested in seeing these photos in color, I made this little slideshow!

sepiasaturday117202010okgif.gif

Thanks @old-guy-photos for #sepiasaturday!
All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSAhive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 30 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

Thanks you so much @pixresteemer!! 🤗😘

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

We are giving away 2000 Hive for reaching 1000 travel digests
Anyone and everyone can join!
Join the raffle and check the 1000 contest post

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you @pinmapple!! 🙂

It is amazing how different photos look with different filters. Sepia is such an old worldly feel, Like it.💜

Thanks so much @angiemitchell!! I do like the nostalgic look it gives them. It is fun to see how different the photos look with the different filters. So glad you like it. Have a wonderful night! 💕

The Big Gunpowder Trail still looks great in sepia, Dee.💖 Lovely shot of the blue Heron.

tip

Thank you very much Jo!! It was a bit funny watching that Heron walk by in almost slow motion. I sure got lucky with that one! 😊💞

You always seem to get great photos from the never ending paradise the Gunpowder Falls State Park and they do look great in sepia a good choice and i love the Great Blue Heron he looks enormous.

Thank you so much @kohsamui99!! It is a big bird and has a pretty big call also. I heard one not long ago and it was as loud as a peacock..which is pretty loud. Always a joy to see one too! 🙂

I always love seeing Big Gunpowder on your post and again you have presented in a spectacular way i love what you have done with the photos 👍

Thank you very much @bigsambucca!! The Gunpowder is just a big and awesome place...and I haven't even seen all of it....yet! 😊