Sepia Saturday ~ Bird Edition

in GEMS4 years ago

Hi All! This Sepia Saturday I'll be showing some photos of the wild birds that I've captured on my cameras. Most of these were taken in my yard and surroundings here and others in my wanderings around. This pretty female Cardinal stopped by the bird feeder for a meal of safflower seed. Cardinals love safflower seed and most other birds do not so if you love Cardinals then you may want to put that in your bird feeders.

sepiasaturday51620201aok.jpg

sepiasaturday51620201bok.jpg

These next two photos are of a Robin that was resting on the fence in the front of my yard. If you look closely at the first photo then you may notice some little spots on the Robin. They are raindrops as it was raining outside when I took them.

sepiasaturday51620202ok.jpg

sepiasaturday51620203ok.jpg

How about some seagulls from the pond at Bynum Run in Harford County, Maryland...

sepiasaturday51620204ok.jpg

...or a duck on the water at Loch Raven Reservoir in Baltimore County, Maryland!

sepiasaturday51620205ok.jpg

Hmmm...what can I say about this Blue Jay? It's pretty and I say "it" because the male and female are almost identical. The male is slightly larger so good luck trying to figure out which is which..lol. I love seeing their colors but, honestly, the ones around here tend to be quite the bullies. I've decided that I will not and can not encourage them into my yard anymore. They are not only bullies to other birds but are also bullies to the cats and humans.

sepiasaturday51620206ok.jpg

sepiasaturday51620207ok.jpg

Here ia a wonderful opposite to the "bully' bird and that is the Mourning Dove. It is known as the Mourning Dove from the mournful cooing sound that they make. You may also know them as Turtle Doves.

sepiasaturday51620208ok.jpg

This is my last photo and it may look like two male Cardinals but it's only one! I thought it would be fun to flip the photo and put it into a collage. I'm pretty happy with how it came out and I hope you like it too! 💖

sepiasaturday51620209ok.png

Thank you @old-guy-photos for #sepiasaturday!!
If you would like to see my photos in color then I'll be showing them in color in an upcoming post in #featheredfriends!

TEAMUSAhive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

thealliancelogofromalliance.png

Sort:  

O.o I was thinking about Sepia birds this week as well lol
Nice post @deerjay you get the coolest birds at your place !!
They just opened the nearby marsh up here so when/if it stops raining I'll head on over. There are 1000's of birds in the marsh this time of year.
Now.... what to do for Sepia Saturday.....

Thanks so much @chromiumone!! Loved your post for #sepiasaturday! I can just imagine all the wonderful photos you are gonna get at the marsh. I hope you get a chance to get out there soon. Our weather has been even more erratic here than usual. Maryland can be so weird sometimes. 😏 😄

Great shots of the birds Dee. 💞The sepia colouring turned out lovely.
I have a few bully birds here. Two grackles Live in the cedars and they try to chase the raven and the blue jays away from any food I put out.

Thank you very much Jo!! Sorry to hear that you have bully birds there too. I give up on the blue jays here. I'm afraid they could hurt one of the outside cats here or people and I can't afford that vet/hospital trip. I just had to take Friendly to the vet again and luckily it wasn't too expensive. Trying another medicine to help with her health. I've had to wear a hooded jacket when I go out around the yard since the jays want to dive bomb and had one actually hit me on the head. Had the hood on so I was unhurt. I tried feeding them at the very back of the yard but I swear they know me and see me coming. What they don't know is that the hand that feeds them isn't gonna be doing that anymore after that attack. Oh well, I gave them a shot but not literally as that would be illegal so will hope they get tired of seeing me empty handed and go back to life as it was before the peanut. 😬 💕

I’m sorry you had another vet bill with Friendly. I hope she is doing alright now.❤️

Your Blue Jays must be a lot more aggressive than the ones here. Maybe it’s because of the babies they might have in the nest. I’ve seen them try to dive bomb the raven to drive him away as he eats the food up but they never tried to attack me. They better not attack the hand that feeds them.😄

The vet said it will be hit or miss and no guarantees so it will be what it will be. It has had me down a bit but I'm still hopeful that she will pull through. 🙏
It reminded me of when I was little and my mom and sister were attacked by one when they got too close to a nest. They are just too aggressive here. A friend of my daughter's had one attack her (not on our property) and had to get stitches. Something told me to put my hood on and I'm glad I did. I'm glad they are not like that there though. I still think they are a beautiful bird but I will admire them from a very far distance from now on. 😉 💞

I can see why this would get you down Dee. We love our pets and miss them if anything should happen. I hope Friendly is getting better and will be with you a long time.❤️

Very fantastic photos of those wild birds friend ... everything related to nature from plants and animals are my friend day by day. I have animals in a small farm that I take care of with a lot of love and affection.

Thank you @edgargonzalez!! 💖