End Of The Road With Steem!

in GEMS4 years ago

My main account finished its power down on Steem couple of days ago. If you had asked me in 2016-2018 if I would power down my Steem then my answer would've been negative. But things changed and how!

I couldn't have thought of doing that for many reasons at the time.


Image

SteemFest 4 closed on a positive note but soon after that we had Tron's hostile take over nonsense that played itself out resulting in a new fork–HIVE

Given the massive roller coaster ride with Steem, I find myself now more flexible about how I choose to go about token accumulation and staking. My approach is more cautious and in-line with improving my overall portfolio.

Crypto market evolves quickly and people are quick to try new things and also give up on them. Fortunately, HIVE is off to a good start but I would like HIVE regain a position within the top 50 in crypto rankings.

It's also good to see renewed interest towards this project from some old users who left after Steem prices peaked in 2018. Some of them are starting to show face again on HIVE but I hope this time they stick around and bring some value to the chain as well.

I wish I knew where the next couple of years will take us in crypto–in our individual journeys and collectively on HIVE. Hopefully we will achieve new goals we've set for ourselves.

In the meantime I hope to see HIVE grow and make a name for itself in the top 100 ranking. Let's continue to spread the word!

Are you still active on Steem? How do you feel about these changes if you've been around for a while?

Sort:  

Good choice!

Indeed! :)

Are you still active on Steem?

No, I'm done

Good to see a familar face around. I to am noticing old hands springing back up after a long time away. This can only be a good sign for the future of Hive. Before starting a new venture, you gotta make sure you have your Firepower! :)

You said it! :D

Good to see you around too. I like that the community is focused on development now. Hopefully the price catches on soon!

At the start I figured that I would post on STEEM and HIVE. Then I started to hear that posts critical of Justin Sun were being taken off the blockchain. And then I heard that the funds from certain accounts were being frozen.

I ran a little experiment, as trolling totalitarians is easy for me. I began with one post a day, just a meme, critical of STEEM and Justin Sun. I wanted to see if in fact I could get censored simply for posting memes.

image.png

It only took two weeks for me to get banished!

So I am done with STEEM and I am still powering down, I should be completely off in two weeks.

Oh damn!
I was initially active after for the fork but the goal was to exit anyway and as soon as possible. I'm glad its over now and also that you and others can powerdown and exit. I hope everyone else switches over to Hive :)

Screenshot_2020-05-29 Stalin Photoshop Meme Generator - Imgflip.png

The meme that finally got me banished. Funny or what?

Do you have a very diverse portfolio of altcoins?

I mean during the last two years, most altcoins have been dying slowly. I caught some interest in hive because of so much activity going on around here.

So, I thought of buying some. I just hope hive doesn't end like steemit.

Do you have a very diverse portfolio of altcoins?
Not anymore I don't. Any coin that increases portfolio value is preferred irrespective of the duration of hodl required to achieve this. However, I do hodl a couple of coins including HIVE at the moment so to speak. :)

With the current inflation rate and sell pressure volatile coins like HIVE are at a risk of an endless bottom until the day they break out of it and start pumping like crazy for a few days. Then rinse repeat.

It has yet to show it can hold value but has proven to shed value. So one needs to be very careful when it comes to accumulating volatile tokens like HIVE.

Lol, you were just saying and hive dropped a bit more.

Hello there. Nope bailed on Steem after the idiot showed his true colors. Haven't posted there since the split, and logged on only to initiate the power down like you. Have now dumped the remaining Steem I had. If anyone is not aware, Bittrex started trading Steem again about a week ago, and can be used to convert back to Bitcoin or other.
I think HIVE has an even better path forward now than Steem had in the past. Let's keep building!

Good call! It would be great if more people move over to HIVE from Steem. I think eventually most will do it anyways. Like yourself I'm done with Steem now. I enjoy using HIVE so I'm glad this took shape quickly when Sun made his move.

I am probably going to move to Hive just like you. I may post to Steem from time and time.