More Snow, Perseverance Landing, Indoor Hockey - Thursday

in GEMS3 years ago

Snow, snow, and more snow. That has been the gist of the week. As of this morning we have 6 inches on the ground after it has compacted some with over 8 inches having fallen. It has not been a very wet snow, a lot lighter, as the water content has been only .15 inches for 2.5 inches of snow. A wet snow will be past .25 and closer to a .5 inch of water content. In the end it doesn't matter so much for us as it does for the mountains and the snow pack for Spring.

The Perseverance landing was awesome! Super cool to see the first pictures coming in and my desktop this morning is that picture since I have the NASA photo of the day app. Incredibly cool that the sky crane worked and the rover landed seemingly fine. They have a drone that will be making flights around the rover for a 30 day window just to do it and to try flying on Mars. It will be the first powered flight on a different planet. They learned so much from Curiosity that Perseverance should do much better for longer, and faster. They said and "average" day of travel will be 200 meters where that was the absolute max of any other rover before. It will be really cool to see what it is able to do.

IMG_20210219_084204.jpg

The boys played outside a bunch since it was sunny for part of the day until it decided to start snowing again. I had hockey on the tv in the afternoon and they decide to start playing inside. When I had taken J to skating lessons in town I had found some broken hockey sticks in the garbages which I took home. They ended up being the perfect size for the boys, one right and one left handed stick, each about 3 feet long. Also at the rink I found over 20 hockey pucks in the stands which I have for the boys to use. We have a couple of the lighter weight junior pucks, mostly all regular pucks, and then I have a floor hockey ball. While we don't have a ton of room inside we have enough and laminate floors so that they decide on goal areas then start smacking the pucks or the ball at each other. Luckily they don't get them airborne and they stay on the floor...

IMG_20210218_162426.jpg

IMG_20210218_162438.jpg

I spent a bit of time getting a package ready to send off today. I've got a good cross section of everything that has run through the freeze drier bagged up and labeled. I will take it to the post office today.

IMG_20210218_170621.jpg

I'm super happy I got the shares of Canaccord CCORF yesterday. I feel that will be the best stock I have as they are THE bank for the sector. I don't see the stock going under $9 ever again. I got mine at $9.50 and that is likely a good entry given the coming explosion of the psychedelics companies. Legalization is coming and this is who is facilitating the initial companies.

Today it looks like some more snow shoveling, pushing, and pulling since it is going to warm back up to the 40s. I would rather get my paths cleared now so they will thaw first, then let the rest of the place melt on its own.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

The boys seem to be having a grand old time lol! I used to play street hockey with my brothers. Plenty of bruises here lol

They love their hockey! I'm just happy they haven't gotten into checking each other, I don't need them flying into everything around the house any more than they already do.

Oh, my! What a wonderful boxfull! And hockey in the house...

You should have it Monday!