Nintendo Switch, Shoveling, Snowman Army - Friday

in GEMS3 years ago

A few months back we entered a code from a Lunchables package for a Nintendo Switch contest they had going and we WON! It has been pretty constant the boys asking when it would be here and it had gotten to multiple times a day as it got into February. We told them it would be 8 to 10 weeks for it to get here which would be the middle of February. Well, they remembered that explicitly and for the last few weeks have been droning on about how excited they were. Yesterday morning it delivered.

IMG_20210219_094642.jpg

We have two boys and one Switch so the very first thing to happen was they were told they would not get to play with it if they couldn't share it. This ground rule got laid right off the bat and I grabbed the timer from the fridge and set it for 10 minutes. They got 10 minute stints at a time and after they had played on it for over 4 hours over the day we put it up.

IMG_20210219_120358.jpg

With them done with their Switch time I sent them outside to play while I shoveled paths around the farm.

IMG_20210219_160429.jpg

I went down to see the tunnel and was surprised by the amount of ice built up. It is a couple feet thick covering the downstream section and the creek must have gotten backed up at some point into the tunnel.

IMG_20210219_160539.jpg
IMG_20210219_160700.jpg
IMG_20210219_160742.jpg

The ice on the side of the tunnel shows how high the water was and that it had frozen that far back in the tunnel. It looks like there was an ice dam at the mouth that backed the water up into the tunnel when it was really cold.

IMG_20210219_160904.jpg

With the nice packable snow it was time to start the snowman army. Think Calvin and Hobbes. I used the snow I pushed off the deck and made a bunch of little snowmen.

IMG_20210219_162104.jpg

The boys were down below working on their large snowman and were all kinds of excited to see my army forming.

IMG_20210219_162729.jpg
IMG_20210219_163020.jpg

The hill down to the creek is perfect for rolling up large snowballs since it takes so little effort to roll, they were able to get good sized ones rolled.

IMG_20210219_163823.jpg

I stopped at 50 for the day which was just the right number to line the upper deck.

IMG_20210219_165935.jpg
IMG_20210219_165943.jpg

The boys are quite pleased with their creation.

IMG_20210219_170212.jpg

I rolled up a few big snowballs and tossed together the other snowman which after taking this picture they punched a hole in the middle of it, like the snowman in Calvin and Hobbes that had a cannonball shot through it. If you can't tell there is a slight Calvin and Hobbes obsession in the house...

IMG_20210219_171412.jpg

Today @stryeyz comes home and we pick her up at the airport this afternoon. I going to get the boys to play outside while there is still snow.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

I love the snowman army! The boys built impressive full-size ones, too.! I enjoy Calvin and Hobbes. I didn't understand that column when it first came out, but after a while I got the hang of it and now it's a favorite. We have several of the books in our house.

I grew up on Calvin and Hobbes and it felt like Bill was drawing me and my childhood. I am an only child and my imagination was nearly as wild as Calvin's. Our oldest has read every book at least 5 times so far and I have to force him to read something else just for a break. 😄

That's great!

50 snow men! Whoa! The boys did a good job on their snow man. :))