A Poor man’s food: Garri and Groundnut... “...it always saves the day”

in GEMS3 years ago

64A27747-BA32-4464-9108-1660320D40AE.jpeg
Have you ever had garri???
Made out of cassava, processed naturally then dried and fried in a very very large pan on an open fire.
Most call it a poor mans food.

7302D574-38B5-400A-A6D9-F6583EE8A039.jpeg

Why?

It’s easy to get and quite cheap. If I had to covert it’s worth to dollars it will be about $0.16 for a cup of it. A big bowl is worth about $3 usd.
Although there are people who still can’t afford it sadly.
It’s always an available option when you almost have nothing to eat at home, it always saves the day!
This was my story during my university days, when all else is done and finished and I have no money to restock on food, I have a bowl of Garri.


Once in it’s final form, it can be eating by just pouring in water.
Which also adds to the reason why it’s called a poor mans food. You don’t need to do much to even eat it, just pour in water!

9EC868C0-DAAB-4670-8040-CCBE694A598A.jpeg

Then comes the extras
Sugar, milk, groundnut, and even coconut.
Depends on how you want to have it and if you can afford the extras of course.


*What is that meal that is super easy and affordable to get where you’re from?


Thank you for reading
Leave me a comment


All photos are taken by me