Attending my Boyfriend's Cousin's Wedding

in GEMS2 years ago

Hi, dear Hivers
I finally had the time to post about the wedding I attended last weekend.
I have realized I am not very good at socializing in this kinds of events, but it was my boyfriend's cousin and his whole family was attending, so I put aside my resistance to elegant social events and had a good time.

IMG_20211116_104341.jpg

Diapositiva1.JPG

The first stop was at a makeup lady. It was a bit hectic becasue I had to work that day and left work in a hurry to be on time for the appointment my boyfriend's mother had made.

Here I am waiting for my turn. I was tired, had alergies and my nose was very sensitive to the air conditioner.

IMG-20211119-WA0047.jpg
She went first

IMG-20211113-WA0057.jpg

She looked gorgeous!
IMG-20211113-WA0060.jpg

I survived the process. It was worth it.
IMG-20211119-WA0066.jpg

Here we were ready to shine. Last time I had so much makeup was on my Quinceañera party! This dress I am wearing was actually a present from her on my 19th birthday.

IMG-20211119-WA0050.jpg

With Andre
He does not like formal parties either. So, we went kind of casual with his jacket and sneakers. I think it was a perfect combination.

IMG-20211119-WA0049.jpg

The wedding took place at this church: Sao Luis Rei de Franca. I loved the glasswork

IMG-20211119-WA0063.jpg

Here is the groom with his mother and an aunt.
IMG-20211119-WA0048.jpg

Couple and family
IMG-20211119-WA0060.jpg

An unusual design for a church. I was used to the traditional colonial churches in Venezuela. I liked how neat everything is, though. Quite elegant and modern.
Most of this people were relatives on my boyfriend's side.

The ceremony was nice, but I definitely don't like churches. My feet hurt and the whole "stand up, sit down, kneel" thing was kind of annoying.
Everything was well organized.

IMG-20211119-WA0062.jpg

We, fooling around

IMG-20211119-WA0061.jpg

After the church ceremony we were to the reception, a very elegant ballroom.

IMG-20211119-WA0052.jpg

They had a band that played a variety of wedding songs, but mostly gospel-like melodies. Andre and I were betting on the kind of songs they would sing. He guessed well.

IMG-20211119-WA0053.jpg

I was quite impressed at the place. Could not help saying to myself, wow, this was very expensive!

IMG-20211119-WA0054.jpg

A hillarious anecdote was that I did not know how the whole reception would go regarding the food. They started serving some fancy and delicious coxinhas (shredded chicken/fish/shrimp meat and cheese croquettes) and I thought that was the food and then we'd eat cake. Well, I was starving and started to eat as many as I was offered. They were delicious.

I was full after a while ready for the cake when my mother-in-law told me, get ready for the buffet! What?
I missed the best food; all the best food you can imagine, but I was full already.

IMG-20211119-WA0055.jpg

As a old woman in a young body, I felt I needed to go home early. I was falling asleep before midnight. So I took a taxi and went to sleep. It was fun, But I am not made for this kind of fancy events.😊

IMG-20211119-WA0058.jpg

Thanks for stopping by. See you next time.

Diapositiva1.JPG

Hive gif.gif

Sort:  

the whole "stand up, sit down, kneel" thing was kind of annoying

I hear you! As a kid at church, it was this exact thing that drove me crazy!

Yes, the ritual is too mechanic, I think.
Thanks for stopping by

Beautiful dress and makeup, you look great! Very nice wedding, thanks for sharing all these pics!

Thank you! 😘