What Am I Doing With My Life? How To Figure It Out : A Rambling Journey of Words.

in GEMS3 years ago

1.png

What Am I Doing With My Life? How To Figure It Out

** Disclaimer : This is sort of rambling first person and third person narrative bouncing back and forth between different ideas that a wrote while drinking coffee contemplating things... it is a string of semi-coherent thoughts put together... Don't judge my writing style on this article. 

Lately I find myself at a crossroads. I'm not sure which direction to take and what to do. Some options we won path and other options lead another way, both are not ideal but change is inevitable and it's coming, I also feel I must change. Ask myself what am I doing my life, and how can I figure it out.


2.png

The Importance of Self-Reflection:

Before moving on to the next point, let's have a quick look at what self-reflection is. Self-reflection is a way to clarify the issue you are having in your life and how you are feeling about it. It is like taking a step back and looking at your own reflection in the mirror. Usually we don't do it often enough, and we miss the true meaning of our life, because the self- reflection you do is like seeing yourself with the “blinders” off, you may see the obvious things but not the big picture. Sometimes we don't realize the whole picture until we actually step back and look at the situation. Ask yourself What do I like to do? Why do I like doing it? Is it helping the world? Is it helping me? Am I learning something new, something that will be useful in the future?


3.png

What is Self-Reflection?

It's a process by which we assess our current condition and look at experiences to determine what our current strengths and weaknesses are. It allows us to make wise life decisions. I have no specific goal in mind. But as I have been asked a couple of times "are you doing what you want to be doing with your life" I started to think about the best way to answer that. Because even though I know I have a purpose to be here in this life, and that I want to create my life for the better, I still can't answer the question "am I doing what I want to do with my life".

I'm working on figuring out my purpose, there is something I'm meant to do in this life. If I could answer that question, I would be able to figure out what I want to do, and to what degree. The question is the first step, or at least I think...


4.png

What do I Want?

What do I want my life to look like in 5-10 years from now? Where do I want to be? Who do I want to be with? Where will I be? Where will I live? How will I spend my time? Where is the next place that I'd like to go? How will I get there? These are the questions that I started to think about after quitting my job over a year ago and setting off to travel. The real question that I want to ask myself is do I have enough of a purpose in my life? Do I have a reason to wake up in the morning and continue to go to bed at night? Am I fulfilling my purpose? This is what I find interesting when you ask someone to describe their life's purpose. Most of them have different answers to this question or have no answer. I used to have a clear answer for this but now I really don't, and to me this is troublesome specially when I stand at a crossroads.


5.png

What are the Obstacles?

The biggest obstacle is my ego. I need to make a change. My ego wants me to be comfortable. I have to secure stable income or do I? am being compensated well, do live in a nice place. Is this all my Ego talking... My other options are not appealing but things are changing. If I do nothing the changes are only going to get worse and harder to make. I've always had a strong need to achieve something. Now I've got to make sure I achieve it, for the sake of my life and future I fear,I've got to become more secure with where I'm at in my life and in letting go.

How to get there?

Define my goals and talk to people. If I sit down and just go it alone then I'm going to come up with nothing about anything but perhaps unrealistic goals. Being around other people will help me to make sure my goals are realistic.

Sitting with other and discussing where you're at is a way to then perhaps find a path around obstacles that might be hindering you...


6.png

Take Action:

I feel that one should never let a lack of a plan stop you from doing what you love. The best ideas happen when you get out of your normal routine. Even if you don't end up doing what you want, or they have no perfect time to execute, try not to let those ideas go. Asking the question and taking action will help you figure it out. Reflect . Just be patient with yourself. Don't give up on yourself and change your mind about what you need. This doesn't mean you can't change it in time, it just means that the universe does not always move in your favor. Just take a step back, breathe and then think of a new plan. Don't be afraid Sometimes things need to be different. While it may not be what you thought it was or what you planned on doing, it's still what you love to do. It's your passion.


7.png

Conclusion:

It's human nature, I believe, when a person can't figure out life and decide what he/she wants, Much where I'm at right now... When in this place is best to take a break, rest, reflect, and get back in the game with a clear head.

In the end, my decision is simple; the paths I was and am taking before wasn't the right one. I came to the conclusion I wanted to live my life in a different way. thus I find myself here, so perhaps I need to shake it up again ... The good news is, once you figure it out, life will never be the same. Share it!


Divider.png

Thankyou.jpg

RoamingSparrow.png
SpectraVentures.png

Travel Photos:@RoamingSparrow
Photo Repository:Roamingsparrow.SmugMug.com

Divider.png


Services I Use and Recommend:

1.png2.png
3.png4.png
5.pngdbuzzBanner.png

Help Support Ongoing Content

Bitcoin (BTC)18zopjg9Y2VA1ouCqCZapN3UzdpK3UnMdm
Ethereum (ETH)0x849C33abCb753540fD0D6cDd25df05BC20a1254E
litecoin (LTC)LdWUz5haDfkn4D1fxmte8nJePEGjJv6Lqh
Bitcoin Cash (BCH)1DRRtY3j5xzx6Dn9ofQgoosXdqGVsYYNcU
Helix (HLIX)HPnubkb9FBtSZKPjRvqD166BX4vPK3GtAz

Divider.png

Thanks for reading my post, you inspire me to keep posting!

Thank you for your support!

Sort:  

Congratulations @jacuzzi, you have received a 100% upvote. I'm the Vietnamese Community bot developed by witness @quochuy and powered by community SP delegations

Fair article to analyse self progress in life. I must say this one can make people, at least, think once about their lives and off course check and balance in life through self reflection and questions you have mentioned are the keys to make one's life thrive.

Very nice content anh Tim. Many people nowadays don't define what their life goal and have strungglings. Sometimes I lost my well as well 😅