You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Books and Life competition.Win 100 HBD and a secret surprise

in GEMS5 months ago

I made a long post about this already but I'll be highlighting what I've already said about it there, here.



I've always loved the fact that I could be absolutely myself with fiction. That I could get immerse in the world so carefully crafted by the amazing imagination of others. And also because fiction, whether we believe it or not, plays a role in our reality.

IMG_20231214_225106.jpg

I read Cages by Peg Kehret when I was 11 years old. And the words that emanated from it still speak to me till now. It talks about the value of self-worth. It talks about the need not to despair when we don't get what we want or when someone else is chosen over us. It highlights the fact that because they are chosen doesn't make them any better than us, but it's just that this time round, they were the ones chosen and that's perfectly okay.

It talks about the need to take hold of the minute. To fully understand that every minute counts and that whatever step we take, or whatever things we plunge into in that minute, once it passes, it's gone. And we can't bring it back. It talks about the beauty in taking hold of every opportunity life presents to us.

I talked about, in my main post, about how all of these came true in my life a while back. How I had the rug pulled from under my feet when I wasn't given a role I was sure I would get and how I learned not to discredit myself because someone else was picked. I'm in a better place because I'm beginning to have a more profound understanding of Life, its ups and downs. And how we can make the best of it. By ourselves. For ourselves. Life is a process and we cannot always be perfect. But we're getting it together. Knit after knit. Step by step. Day after day.


A Quote from Peg Kehret's Cages

~This minute is passing. Take hold of it cause it's never coming back.~

Sort:  

Beautiful choice! I can see why this book has reached your soul and remained there as a precious memory! Thank you for your entry🤗

You're welcome. Hope you enjoy the longer post as well.🤗

I love the quote, we forgot too often to be in the moment.