You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The case for $1 million per Bitcoin isn't as crazy as it sounds...

in GEMS4 years ago

Several things... BTC will likely never be used for every day payments, at least not in its current iteration. Which is why it makes more sense for storing value. For people that are currently holding gold, how often do they use that buy something or send it to someone else?

Secondly, yes if you were to transfer the smallest usable amounts you would get crushed in fees, but conversely, if you were to send a very large amount it would cost significantly less than the legacy systems. Bitcoin may end up being some sort of settlement layer for central banks around the world, not for everyone to use to buy coffee, at least not in its current iteration.

Sort:  

I'm not holding gold, I'm holding silver... It's customary where I'm from to give silver to all children for nest egg when they grow adults. My parents were not quite traditional, so they also gave me bank stocks, that I did sell for profit before the financial system collapsed here.

It wouldn't make sense to hold pure gold as it would be almost impossible to touch as it is soft like cotton candy.

Even almost pure silver is usually stored in vacuum plastic capsules because it can fade. I used electrolyte soaked aluminium foil strips to clean my silver ring.