Happy Caturday: my cats like to climb tree.

in GEMS2 years ago

These past few days the world seems to be in a whirlwind of sudden changes and the momentum of time seems to be gathering more intensity. My effort in trying to catch up with unfinished tasks has made a small progress; but I know I should have achieved more. My life seems to be living in parallel reality: one with stray cats and the other with orange cats. These cats keep me sane and down to earth amidst all the confusing and urgent diversions for survival. These cats just make me pay attention to moment by moment while feeding and observing these cats. Their lives are also very important and require suitable conditions for survival. They made no demand, only crying for help and kindness. At times they just sit and suffer their hunger or illness quietly for they don’t know how to communicate with humans. So, it is such a blessing whenever my orange cats come to greet me after I enter the house.

img_7641.jpg

img_7643.jpg

My cats have their own way of telling me when they would like special snack. They way they sit quietly and keep gazing at me tell me that they are requesting some snack. But they are too considerate to actually ask me out right by meowing. They didn’t want to disturb me but they hope I would notice how they are waiting patiently. I could somehow hear what they are thinking sometimes. So, I would tell them to wait for a while as I am in the middle of something, usually on Internet. They would be very gracious and accept the small portions of snacks; I am trying to get them to lose some weights so they could climb trees again.

img_7640.jpg

img_7642.jpg

It is as if my concern about my cats not being able to climb trees have been heard by my cats. A few days ago while we were out walking in the garden together; my cats just showed me that they could climb trees very well. I put my cats on the cork tree so that they could enjoy the view over the wall. Surprisingly, Joan started to climb up the branches. Remembering how he got stuck up five meters up the tree, I told him to stop climbing and come down at once. He looked at me and refused to stop climbing.

img_7646.jpg

img_7644.jpg

Joan was telling me that he would show me that he could climb tree without any fear; he was showing off his climbing ability so that I would not label him as a coward. He went up to about five meters high but the branches were much bigger than last time. He showed me how good he was at climbing so I could no tell others that he was afraid of tree climbing. I shouted at him and praised him on his climbing skill and courage. I told him I had no idea that he was no longer afraid of height. I was do glad Joan could climb tree once again.

img_7648.jpg

He stood up there on smaller branches for a few minutes wondering what he should do next. I asked him to show me that he could climb down safely by himself. He nodded and started to make his way down the smaller branches. Being so heavy, his weight added to the speed of his descending momentum. He slipped and lost the grip of two back legs. I saw him dangling with two front arms for five seconds. I went to stand under the trees ready to catch him from falling to the ground. Luckily Joan could swung his two legs back to grab the branch.

img_7647.jpg
(Joan almost dropped out of the tree! Fat cat had his weight working against him.)

He became more careful in climbing down the tree. I told him not to rush. He did show that he was in control and he had no more fear about climbing high up the tree. I couldn’t believe this transformation that Joan could climb trees at great height. I took quite a few photos of Joan on this tree. It’s quite amazing seeing a fat cat (about six kilos), climbing up trees. Joan must be a very strong cat though he’s quite heavy. I also put Kwan on this cork tree but she was super quick at climbing up the tree. Kwan was very skillful and confident on tree climbing. She went up quite high but she came down very fast. It’s good to know that these orange cats could climb up trees to be safe from stray dogs.

img_7649.jpg

img_7650.jpg

The following day I played chase with my cats and they both ran up a tree to get away from my reach. These cats had so much energy in the evening; they often bursted into quick run around the garden and climb up trees. Joan and Kwan surprised me by climbing up another tall tree yesterday. Kwan went up to the top of the tree, she just loves to climb trees. Kwan is very smart and she knows how to climb down tree by slowly going backward like reversing a car. Joan still climbed trees with his face pointing downward which could be very dangerous. I was so glad that finally my wish for Joan to be able to climb trees became reality. It was so nice that Joan has begun to climb trees again after two years of staying grounded. I hope Kwan could teach her brother to come down trees by backing down tail first!

img_8014.jpg

Kwan is very good at climbing tree! She’s fast and skillful.

img_8015.jpg

My cats live one day at a time; they don’t plan for the future. They have limited memories and thinking capability so all their energies go into everyday survival. Living in the moment is essential for their wellbeing and survival. In contrast, my brain is forever worrying about the future and thinking about how to survive in case of a world war or natural disaster. I could only try to think about several scenarios ranging from bad to really dangerous situations. This thinking activities have taken me on a wild and crazy mental journey. So, I need to maintain some balance in my life and get in touch with reality by feeding cats at temple and looking after orange cats.

img_8016.jpg

Kwan likes to sit and stand on my orchids!

img_8017.jpg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Stay strong and cheerful.

Sort:  

Great photos!
This redhead is a great athlete :-)))

Thank you!

What a beautiful sight to see orange cats climbing trees. I wish I could join them haha.

Yup! There are bug trees you could climb here. But you have to be careful in case there are red ants on the tree!

Ok I'll pass on that haha

Wow, it's so nice to have such amazing cats, the fact they understand you and vice versa is something I find really amazing and wonderful.
I read through and I loved every paragraph. You made me fall in love with cats through this post, thank you.

Thanks so much for your attention and kind words. Glad to have persuaded you to like cats. These are special cats but they are getting too heavy!

These are special cats but they are getting too heavy!

That's still nice, it only means you take good care of them😊.

Cats are great animals ! I was very entertained by the way you wrote the post ! I thought they might fall down! Good thing they are agile and can go down quietly after doing a lot of tumbling!

Thanks so much for your kind comment and encouragement. Glad you like my orange cats! They ought to lose some weight.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @kaminchan.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks for your generous support.

cats are adorable

Some cats could be very lovely and nice.

Good to see them out doing stuff! Usually it's asleep cats photos... :))

Yup! They sleep all day! I had to put them on the tree and enticed them to climb! Lazy cats!

Saw my mum's cat chasing a squirrel around a tree trunk. It had no chance of catching it, too stupid to stop😂 Lucky it had a soft landing.

I saw a skinny cat climbing up a tall tree hoping to catch a squirrel in the temple. But he was desperate for food; the squirrel jumped to the next tree! I asked him to come down. He seemed to lose face and dignity so I told him to wait for me just one day. I came back to see him with cat food. That’s when I started feeding hungry cats at the temple.
People demolished old buildings which were true hiding place and hunting ground for mice!
The natural surroundings in the city where wild animals could maintain a kind if eco system have mostly disappeared.
Now stray cats at the temple got to be my friends.