My Weekend Surprise: New Coffee Tasting!

in GEMS4 years ago

A happy receiver today, getting my first local roasted coffee bean pack today from a roastery in Kuala Lumpur named Discover Coffee Roasting Co. Browse through their menu and picked this Old School Blend for my first try. Usually, I would go for 1kg as I am an avid drinker with at least one to two cups of coffee per day. So 1kg would last me around 4-5 months. Throughout my coffee experience, I had tried really bland coffee beans which had "expired" and not kept well; I also tried Liberica where I got the beans from Sabah, which does not taste well for me; I had tried CTBL and Starbucks beans, which are relatively OK but does not have a strong taste note there. In the end, locally roasted coffee would be the best choice if I am going to aim for a great taste and fresh coffee drink. At first, I thought that this would be fetching a high price purchasing 1kg as I did one purchase before of 300g with RM50! The bean is good but it is an overkill for me, especially for my pocket.

110260316_389274875383758_6206499798052984589_n.jpg
Talking about this Old School Blend, I came across this on Shopee and it turns out to be quite popular with good testimonials and sales record. Then, seeing that the shop is giving out voucher plus Shopee free delivery voucher, that would save up RM8 for me to purchase this jewel. That would give me around 10% discount with this purchase and let's see how long can this bag of beans last me. Oh ya, forget to mention that the delivery was fast as well! I bought it on Thursday and within 2 days the beans had arrived on my doorstep.

115747861_1163875643971968_1995952425142932237_n.jpg
So, my usual thing is to open up the packet and have a good smell on the beans. Love the aroma, chocolaty but not too dark roasted like the chain outlets where you can see shiny, dark oily surface on the beans. To prevent me from opening up the seal repeatedly, I have this glass container specifically for the beans, so its easier for me to access. One container would last me around one month plus (with this post, I can keep track on my own consumption too).

115735154_760208614722976_2616758079040482345_n.jpg
I have a basic grinder which can only give me a medium-fine grind which is sufficient for me. I would love to go for more variety but that would be another time for me. Waiting for me to hit a milestone to buy myself a toy. I forget to take my brew of the day. Perhaps next time I will share my coffee. It is very basic and I have yet to pick up the latte art skill. My latte usually is done very "Starbuck-ish", a lot of foam and milky taste. Yet, I do love how the barista in local cafe did for cappuccino too. Looking forward to exploring more in coffee!

Sort:  

Thank you for your support. We will be working for a new payout scheme for you soon. Keep your chins up and stay tune!

This post has been manually curated by artemisshares.png

You can view the post Here. Thanks for creating consistently good content on Hive.