You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can you Walk like a Bermudian?

in GEMS3 years ago

That looks like an interesting visit! We went to the Atlantis Resort in the Bahamas a few years ago. It's quite a bit further south and the resort was like a giant waterpark with slides and a giant lazy river. Definitely fun, but I'm more into the snorkeling and beach which it had as well.

Will definitely have to put this on the todo list one day!

Sort:  

I love the Bahamas, but lately (before the pandemic) it started having a crime problem, which is a problem for me. Not in the resorts, but, I like to step away and snorkel and dive. They have done a great job in creating a presence, preventing petty crime downtown.

My guess is Mother Nature and her horrific weather in the last couple of years has caused a lot of financial stress on the people, which is too bad in an already devastated area.

I do know of the giant waterpark and although it is fun, I would give it up in a heartbeat for a coral reef and a snorkel. You need to try Bermuda! No waterpark but fun beaches with that famous pink sand. :))

I hope you are having an amazing Sunday!

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmjuwHwxz8yeiDaa29KLMNaykbdHv5MKFMBcRcjZCATGbo2AjtXnFaB15C5o1f.jpg

Same here on preferring the beach and snorkel. We also went to Jamaica a few years ago. That was really nice, but like Bermuda, have to be very careful if you go off-resort.

On that trip we got to go out on a catamaran to the reef, snorkel, have lunch at Margaritaville, and catamaran back. The reef there was awesome.

That was really nice, but like Bermuda, have to be very careful if you go off-resort.

You know I said Bahama's right? The organized trips are always fine, and I have been to the less crowded side of the island, but, downtown Nassau, once you get out of the pedestrian area, has become sketchy to walk around. Same as Jamaica. The last time I was there, I had people in my face the entire time. That just feels wrong. :(

You can walk safely anywhere in Bermuda without worrying about anyone accosting you for anything.

But, I am sure we have tons of places like that in our cities here. I admit I have always had a great time, but, I have seen some older people get accosted to the point of them being uncomfortable.

Ahh, I did mis-read your post as Bermuda instead of Bahamas.. That sounds much nicer if still the same!

It has been like that since I was a kid, plus, the bigger factor is there is a different economic makeup of the island. The best reefs ever in close proximity to us?

Bonaire!