"I came for the money but stayed for the community" / My 3 favorite Hive communities

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

desde 1984.png

Image found on Freepik and modified by me fo the purpose of this post

I write this post to participate in the initiative
My Favorite Communities by @theycallmedan which consists in describing our top 3 ffavorite communities on #Hive.

I'd like to start by referring to the title of this post

I came for the money but stayed for the community

I have only been on Hive for a couple of months, so I don’t know who this statement belongs to (I'd like to, though. So if you are reading this, I’d like to meet you :).

What I do know is that this line depicts a common sentiment around Hivers. I've seen this phrase quite a few times by different people. And I can understand why.

Hive is a place of people who have common interests and share their talents, thoughts and ideas to other people who feel related to them.

So one may say that Hive is where people can find each other and build their own networks, which can grow as big as they can imagine, big as they probably never thought possible in the outside world.

Some may say that this can be achieved in other social media, but there's a difference in Hive, because it is actually owned by people and it is built in a way that is unique for those who are in it.

I guess I could sum up these thoughts on the quote above by saying that Hive is a home. Everybody feels happy at home. I know people who can find hard to be part of a social group, to be heard, to be noticed, understood.

Real life interactions are harder, especially because what makes us interact is not always our common interests but mandatory constructs, such as the family we were born, our neighbors, teachers, classmates, colleagues, etc. I am referring to a community we may not find to be home.

But we have found Hive

I would add to the quote the word: home

I came for the money but stayed for the community which I now call home

Back to Dan's initiative, I have definitely found communities which are now my second home.

I will start with The Ink Well and the Freewriters

At first, I didn't know how I would exactly fit in this whole new world. So I wondered; what's that thing I really like? and what can I do well? And the answer was writing

I am a Translator. It is the profession I chose for a living. But when I was younger and dreamed about what I wanted to do in life, I pictured myself writing books.

You know this question that everybody would ask you as a kid? "What do you want to be when you grow up?" Most kids answer with the kind of thing that isn't referred to regular types of jobs; astronauts, firefighters, musicians, painters, superheroes…

Well I would say that I would be a writer. Then back in college I did write some stuff that I would only share with myself or the people around me. That's as far as I got.

But then I found Hive

Now, when I'm a grown 33 year old woman.

Hive showed me that it's never late to start something new. And so I did, and it has been amazing!

I would have never imagined the response I've gotten for my short stories. I'm not referring to Hive tokens (I'm not there yet) but to upvotes.

I found myself full of hearts. Full of recognition by the community. And that’s incredible.

I got my own Hive Library for readers to check out at any time.

This is my journey on Hive with The Ink Well and the Freewriters. And now I would like to show you some of the things I consider to be great features of these communities.

  1. They are organized and structured. I've seen how they comply with deadlines, assess every entry, give feedback to writers.
  2. They handle many projects. I have participated in a couple of them. And there are also many plans for the future. E.g The Ink Well will open a school with webinars to learn how to write a novel, among others.You can check them out in their last Newsletter
  3. They follow up every piece of writing and provide feedback to the authors. They also have a weekly post for writing tips.
  4. They always keep the community active and motivate people to keep on writing.
  5. They respect each other. I haven't come across a single mean or hurtful comment.

Thanks to the @freewriters and #theinkwell for providing writers with a space for growth in the literature realm, and for their constant support.

My other favorite community is Leo Finance

You may find it odd, considering I just told you that I am a writer and mostly post short stories. But I mention this community because it's like a school for me. Only that in a watching kind of mode hehe. I have not published a single article there yet, but it is simply because I'm not an expert in these topics to come up with a post related to them. I only upvote. For now.

What I like is all the things that I'm learning. Who said a writer can't know about cryptocurrency and business? Me lol.

But thanks to Leo Finance, I started to believe I can. And I will, so I thank them.

Here are some of the features I like about this community:

  1. They know their stuff. Most people of this community are experts on finance and related topics.
  2. They are also organized and have a staff who not only provide content but highly curate it.
  3. They have their own website where among other things you can see how the market is moving in real time, and Dapps such as Leodex for trading tokens, and the coming soon wrapped Leo.
  4. They even have a library where you can find interesting information and resources to learn about cryptocurrency and finance.
  5. They teach people how to understand the crypto world. And even though they have their own token (LEO) and Dapp for trade. they advise on how to better use your resources for your own benefit.

Now, I haven't started investing yet because I'm focused on learning first; taking notes as in school, and watching videos. But I will start soon.

Thanks to @leofinance for making this possible


I know the @ocd has given full support to the Ink Wel. I salute their new incubation program.

I'd like to conclude by thanking Dan for coming up with this initiative, because I had the opportunity to express my opinion on the importance of these communities and how they have had an impact in my life. Now I picture myself differently in the future.

If someone asks me what I do now that I am a grown up, I would say

I am a writer and investor

And I am here to stay.

I'm still learning how to swim but I feel comfortable and happy to be part of this big ocean full of different homes and possibilities.

Thank you all


You can contact me via

discord.png
Lacrucita#5950

twitter.png

Twitter icon made by Flaticon

Sort:  

Congratulations @lacrucita! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 200 replies. Your next target is to reach 300 replies.
You published more than 30 posts. Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive UK Community

Hello @lacrucita, thank you for your kind words about The Ink Well community. We are a small community and only just beginning to find our feet, although we have lots of big plans. It's good to know that you enjoy it and you've found a place to call home 😍.

I would love to see more posters interacting with each other, perhaps having a small target of visiting and commenting on five posts a day? I know you visit other posts, what do you think?

Thank you, @shanibeer.
I also believe interaction is key to bring the community together. This week I've been busy at work and hosting the [Arepazo Mundial challenge] but I look forward to continuing visiting and commenting on the work of our fellow writers.
I think one way to increase interaction is to host more challenges to review other people's work. It's an interesting exercise and I think people being reviewed by other Inkwellians (besides the moderators) will feel noticed and grateful to have feedback.
I also think it is important to interact with other communities as well, so hives can grow and work together to build a better Hive platform. I'm working on an idea to host a challenge related to this. If you would like to learn about it you can provide me with your contact info and I'll be happy to tell you all about it :)

Thank you for all your hard work. I'll see you around.

I think people being reviewed by other Inkwellians (besides the moderators) will feel noticed and grateful to have feedback

I agree! It is much better for each writer to build their own network of people that feedback and support them, and much more rewarding for everyone!

You can find me on Discord: shanibeer#7523

!ENGAGE 50

Exactly.

I couldn't find you on Discord, so I'll leave you a link to Google docs for you to read the proposal.

My user in Discord is Lacrucita#5950

Thank you!

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1NaZFKYzbZnl_TbcxdDDzN-MJlL_5Vq-B2Fn-6radifg/edit?usp=drivesdk

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hi @lacrucita,
I've added you to my program @help.venezuela that supports authors from your country. This account will upvote your posts systematically. Congratulations!

Best regards,
Achim

Loading...