About me and watercolor

in GEMS3 years ago

Hello everyone who loves art and especially watercolor! I'm Elizabet, a watercolor enthusiast living in Ukraine. I was once a person who wrote a lot but have now metamorphosed into someone who wants everything depicted visually on color and dripping paint.

Watercolor has become a favorite medium for me. This was a surprising change because I've talked so much on my social media account about how much I love gouache. I still like gouache but nothing compares to the fluidity of watercolor.

Watercolor is easy to clean up and easy to carry . With minimal paint and creativity, you can create surprising textures, because the water, activated with paint has a mind of its own. It's not tedious like I feel acrylic is. I've painted with acrylic and it was my least favorite medium. I did not feel relaxed at all. For me, time spent with watercolor has been fun and meditative.

I've spent the majority of the year practicing portraits and only recently decided to paint less of those and more whimsical things. I also enjoy paintings that focus on extracting things from a body, like a person's lips. I'm also enjoying more of landscape paintings as well as participating in follow along watercolor tutorials on YouTube and patreon. I do this mainly because I want to see how others paint, in order to get better and learn new techniques.

I've typed too much already. Blame @nonsowrites. So I'll get to the gist. Below are some of my watercolor practice paintings that I'm happy to share.

img_0.3633669198366422.jpg

^painted along with Emma Ray Lefebvre on youtube

img_0.1609297036633846.jpg

^I painted this after watching a tutorial by Yong Chen on YouTube

img_0.7698364472596014.jpg

^painted along with MariaSokol art on youtube

img_0.7044697304338647.jpg

^painted along with Jenna Rainey, also on youtube

Let me know what you think!

Sort:  

Hello, @lizzyblueart! This is @anggreklestari from the @OCD team. We saw that you already posted your first post here in Hive! Congratulations and welcome!

Well, you can explore the communities that are suitable for your content. You can read some of the communities in this post: OCD Communities Incubation Program

If you are looking for tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: newbie guide.

If you have questions or concerns, you can hop into OCD's Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

Have a great day!

They look awesome, especially the birds. The rounded one on the left looked so cute! ❤️
I recently bought watercolor and wanted to try it too. 😄

Thank you! I hope you enjoy watercolor as much as I do.

Thanks! I hope so too. >.<