How I Am Posting Daily On Hive Using A Small Habit Of Journaling.

in GEMS4 years ago

Untitled drawing 8.png

Source: Pixabay.

I have tried to write daily, make it a habit but failed mostly.

However, this time I was able to write continuously for more than 20 days. And I am enjoying this small feat.

I was thinking about how I failed before and succeeded now. What did I do this time differently?

Well, when I was writing before, most of my posts turned out to be like instruction manuals.

Untitled drawing 4.png

It was boring. So I stopped.

This time I thought why not experiment a little bit and improve my hive experience.

As a result, I tried to transform my habit of journaling daily into posts on hive.

A journal is simply a tool to keep track of things that I focus on.

Basically this is how journalling works-- if something good happens in your life, you write about it. You had a bad day? You write about it. Achieved something? Well, write it.

Writing helps me clear my thoughts, understand my ideas and rationalise my emotions.

So, I just try to share my emotions daily on hive and it became an enoyable experience for me.

Also, it helped me to connect with people on hive at a personal level.


Untitled drawing 5.png


❖ It can lower your stress levels on a bad day. Once you write down your emotions, you will feel at ease.

❖ It gives you a new perspective on what is important and what's not.

❖ By noting down what you give more importance to, you will have more clarity about what you want more in your life.

❖ If you write down your emotions, you can always go back and read your post to gain more perspective. Want to know why you felt like that last week? It's easy, go and read the journal.

❖ It helps you to be more mindful and more balanced.

❖ You can notice smaller things in your life when you write about them.

❖It makes you feel more accomplished about your day, even if it is a relatively small accomplishment.

❖ It provides hard evidence about the accounts of your personal experience.

Journaling helps you to find out things you focus on. It also helps you to get negative thoughts out of your head.

If you journal, you have the opportunity to look back on your memories. You can learn a great deal about yourself if you review your past.

For example, I used to write a lot of negative things in 2018. But now I have changed my mindset, so I focus on positive things.

Because my thoughts are written in the form of posts on hive, I could always go back and look at how I was doing a couple of weeks ago, a month ago, an year ago.

The best thing about analysing your emotions is when you write down your feeling, you can decide whether they are rational or not.

Once you start enjoying journaling, you get addicted to it and you can see improvement in your life.

The only thing you need to control is to stick with the habit of writing daily. Be consistent and write every day.

It will turn out to be a gold mine where you can find all your emotions, ideas and feelings at one place.


Untitled drawing 6.png


You should journal something that is valuable to you. That way it will be more effective to analyse it later.

You can write about people around you, how they influence you. You can also write about the challenges you are going through.

The place you live in.

How you enjoyed the sunrise this morning.

How you connected with a loved one after a while.

Variety is the spice of life. Try to write about as many new things as possible.

Also, you can go back in memory lane and write something about your childhood.

Be creative, even if you don’t think you are creative.


For example, @riverflows is going through a hard time and she is sharing her thoughts daily on her profile. When I read her post today, I could relate with what she is going through. Being an introvert, I have lived a life like that.

What amazed me was the comments that came in her support.

Later, I realized that this is what I was doing for a long time. I was just not sharing my personal experience but how to cope with emotions I face daily. To improve my experience on hive, I have to write more about my personal experiences.


Untitled drawing 7.png


One thing I was concerned about was-- what if people will judge me about my emotions. What if I write too much about my personal life. I don't know where to draw the line.

Untitled drawing 9.png

Source: Pixabay

So, I came up with a pretty easy solution. Everything I write, I will write with a mindset that someone I know is going to read it. So I will write it in a way that I don’t get embarrassed later.

It means I will only share my emotions and life to a point that I don't regret later.



What about you?

Do you ever write your thoughts? And share them on hive?

Do you journal? Have you seen any benefits of journaling?